Dear Me, it’s You.

Jaime Pierce
Motherhood
Published in
3 min readMay 23, 2017

When was the last time you did something for YOU, because you WANTED to, not because you HAD to? As wives, mothers, & daughters, we are racing the clock everyday! We have long lists of to-do’s; what needs to get done and who needs help with what. Often times we get lost in the mix. I’m not even a mother YET and I am guilty of this.

My husband has a full-time job here in Nashville, TN. The REAL reason we live here is because we are pursuing country music as a duo called Pierce Avenue. Between gigs, writing sessions and keeping up with our social media, along with everything Pierce Avenue, it’s non-stop.

I take care of the house, which means: cleaning, laundry, the finances, and I even do most of our yard work. I find yard work to be good exercise AND a good stress reliever, hence why I don’t mind doing it. My parents live near by us as well. I was born late in life to them, so I am very grateful they are close by. My Dad has recently fallen ill, and the last year has been full of changes for our family, especially my Mom. I’m doing everything I can to be there to support them through all these new life changes and challenges. It has not been easy.

Most of the time I strive to be Super Woman, but I occasionally suffer from anxiety. I have found the best way to battle my anxiety and be the best version of me for my husband and family is to find ME time.

Ladies, I truly encourage you to ask this question to yourself: “Dear Me, it’s You! How are you? What used to make you happy or feel good & recharged about life when you were younger?” Whether it was going to the gym, shopping by yourself once a week, dancing around the house when you’re home alone, keeping a journal you haven’t had time to touch…

Whatever YOUR thing was that you have recently been shoving off due to not having time, do it! Stop pushing it to the side.

You are not being selfish taking YOU time. It’s important. We have to keep our bodies and minds healthy to be all that we want to be for our husbands, children, and families. Don’t lose yourself! Your husband fell in love with you because of who you are, don’t let it slip away. Dear Me, it’s You… let’s get to know each other again!❤

-Jaime Pierce

You can follow Jamie on her blog, A Blonde Objective, to read more. You can also follow along her music journey on Instagram too!

Motherhood: Breaking the Looking Glass

Follow our blog, Motherhood: Breaking the Looking Glass, for more stories on Motherhood.

Want to contribute a post? Email us: contact@kindredtogether.com and tell us why!

--

--

Jaime Pierce
Motherhood

Wife, Singer in duo Pierce Avenue, & Blogger- A Blonde Objective, living in Nashville, TN! Follow on IG, FB, & Twitter @pierceavemusic www.ablondeobjective.com