Find Your Passion and Find Happiness

Stefani Ganong
Motherhood
Published in
3 min readMay 19, 2017

Motherhood can be so isolating.

We spend our days, nights, and every spare minute taking care of other people. And we love it, of course. These precious souls that we are raising fill our hearts with love, but they also drain us of every ounce of energy that we have.

We pour everything into raising them, helping our family to run smoothly and keeping our house from looking like an episode of Hoarders. This becomes our day-to-day life, and before we know it, years have gone by and we realize that we feel stuck.

It happens easily to us, and it happens quickly. We get so distracted with the daily grind that when our old self slips away bit by bit, we don’t even notice.

I’ve felt this way too — like I existed only to be someone’s wife & someone’s mother. And somewhere along the way, I had lost who I was to me.

I felt depressed. Well-meaning friends and family would tell me “take time for yourself!” and “start doing something you enjoy doing”. The problem was- I didn’t know what I enjoyed anymore. Who was I?

I tried everything that I could think of — workout classes, bible studies, coloring books, long baths, girls night out… and while I enjoyed the time I spent doing those things, they didn’t fulfill me.

I started writing as an outlet, discussing my frustrations with my health and documenting new recipes that I was finding. And as my blog grew, and people started telling me how I was helping them through their health crises, I realized something huge — I had found my passion. Writing, doing research on wellness, and encouraging others to find their health was fulfilling me.

I no longer felt lost, and what an amazing feeling that was! Finding my passion filled the empty spot inside of me where the depression was growing.

I’m a blogger. A writer. An author. And I’m also a wife, mother, daughter, sister and friend. All of those things together make me who I am, but I wasn’t complete before I knew what I wanted to do, just for me.

If taking care of others is what fulfills you, then that is amazing! Your passion won’t be the same as your friend’s passion or your husband’s. It will be unique to you, just the way it should be.

What do you want to do for you? What fulfills you? What would you enjoy doing if you had all the time in the world? I encourage you to take the time to figure that out. Once you do, everything will look much clearer.

You can read more from Stefani on her blog, Crafty Christian. Follow her on Instagram to see her delicious recipes and her beautiful family.

Follow our blog, Motherhood: Breaking the Looking Glass, for more stories on Motherhood from mothers like you.

Want to contribute a post? Email us: contact@kindredtogether.com and tell us why!

--

--

Stefani Ganong
Motherhood

Blogger//Boy Mom//Encouraging healthy families//Certified Health Coach//Essential Oils//Crunchy Mama//Natural healing of Hashimotos & Lyme//Paleo//Jesus💛