High School Happens Overnight

Nicole Ziegler
Motherhood
Published in
3 min readOct 4, 2016

How is it possible that time is flying by faster than ever before, but standing still at the same time? Am I the only person to ever experience a season in life like this? I have heard it all before from other parents, you know what I’m talking about… “Enjoy it now because before you know it they will be on their way.” I’m pretty sure this is the beginning of that time so many people told me would happen over night.

I have five kids, so moments like this will happen again for each child. When it’s your first born, or your first experience with this “moment” it all feels very intense. My daughter started high school this year, she is my first born. I mentioned that our son (16) is the oldest, but his experience is much different being a child with multiple disabilities. His milestones come at a different pace and are just as emotional sometimes. Our daughter starting high school is the first time we will have school dances, team sports, broken hearts and all the other memories to discover.

Over the summer everything seemed to go as it normally does with picnics, parks, movie nights, campfire s’mores. I didn’t realize how fast things would change over night. At least it feels like it was instant. She joined a sport, the swim team. Next week is homecoming, she goes to football games on Friday nights and shows interest in so many new things I can’t keep track. Meanwhile, here I am… right where she left me. The same ol’ Mom, but now I have one less “baby” by my side.

I know what you’re thinking, I hear it a lot. I still have babies at home and she still has a ton of growing to do. She’s on her way though, to do big things and see the world. I feel like everything, and everyone is speeding by and I’m standing still watching it all happen. It’s this scary, lonely, exciting, proud moment for a Mom. I want her to be my little girl forever but I’m pretty excited to watch her take on the world.

This weekend we shopped for her first homecoming dress, her Dad actually picked it out. She loved it! I loved watching them have that moment. We also bought the baby her first pair of shoes, soon she will be walking. So that means soon I will have another baby speeding by as I stand back and enjoy the view… but not without a little tear in my eye.

If you enjoy hearing my stories, please subscribe to my blog! You can also follow me on Twitter and Instagram!

Motherhood: Breaking the Looking Glass

Follow our blog, Motherhood: Breaking the Looking Glass, for more stories on Motherhood from women like you.

Want to contribute a post? Email us: contact@kindredtogether.com and tell us why!

--

--

Nicole Ziegler
Motherhood

I’m a wife, stylist, blogging, crafty mom of 5 who also loves to cook! I run on coffee, and embrace the chaos! www.coldcoffeeandchaos.com