Ankle Booties: The Spring Fashion Trend

AshLee Frymier
Motherhood
Published in
4 min readMay 3, 2017

Becoming a mom hasn’t changed my style but it’s definitely changed how I choose my clothing. I still want to look on trend but what really rules my purchases is comfort. Chasing toddlers means I need to be free to move and not worry about arranging my clothes every time I stand up.

Dresses are my usual picks lately. And let’s get real, it’s mostly because I have about 10 minutes on average to get ready. So a dress is only 1 item and pretty simple to grab on the daily.

Dresses are also perfect for any stage of Motherhood from expecting, nursing (think criss-cross or wrap style dresses) to running with the hounds, er, I mean toddlers. When maxi dresses became popular I was ecstatic! Comfy soft material in a long flowy dress? Sign me up!

Another trend I’ve come to love is booties. Also known as ankle boots or short boots, but booties is much more fun to say. I love sandal style booties, cozy duck booties, wintery suede booties and all booties in between! There are endless ways to wear them all year long.

Recently I took a risk and purchased a pair from Amazon. I am very reluctant to purchase shoes I haven’t tried on. You never know if the fit or comfort will be just right, but I got brave and clicked that purchase button and I highly recommend these J. Adams Slip On Booties. I will even dare to say I will be purchasing another pair in a different color.

What’s so great about booties you ask? Mmmk, well besides the obvious of how adorable they are, they have a low heel which means long walks and long day wear approved, easily transition from season to season and can be dressed up or dressed down. A simple pinterest search results in thousands of ways to style booties.

via lifewithemilyblog.com
via Bloglovin’

As you can see ankle boots, or booties as I like to call them, are so versatile! I feel incredibly fashionable when I slip mine on, whether it’s with a graphic tee or a dress. They just amp up my outfit rather than wearing flats or Sperry’s. No disrespect, Sperry’s, I still love you.

I paired my new booties with the my favorite dress. It’s the softest, most comfiest dress and you can get it from Threadology Boutique. I won’t even mind if we’re twinsies because I really want you to experience how comfortable and wonderful this dress is! It’s long sleeves but I rolled my sleeves up and this dress came right with me into spring. And by spring I mean 90 degrees because that’s how Florida does spring.

As moms we need to capitalize on these comfortable trends. I’m crossing my fingers that booties is one trend that sticks around for a while.

I hope ya’ll take my advice and give booties a chance, if you haven’t already. Do you have a favorite way to wear booties? Tag me on Instagram! I’d love to see your booties and how you style them!

Wow, that didn’t sound right at all. I really should start saying ankle booties to avoid confusion. Lol! Oh well, happy styling! ❤

You can read more of Ashlee’s writing on her blog and also follow her Instagram for snap shots from her daily adventures!

Motherhood: Breaking the Looking Glass

Follow our blog, Motherhood: Breaking the Looking Glass, for more stories on Motherhood from women like you.

Want to contribute a post? Email us: contact@kindredtogether.com and tell us why!

--

--

AshLee Frymier
Motherhood

I’m a working mom who spends my nights and weekends soaking up my two toddler boys and convincing myself I’m not a shopaholic.