Katie Crenshaw

Christina Picciotto
Motherhood
Published in
4 min readJan 16, 2017

Happy Monday loves! I hope you are all having a wonderful start to your week and enjoying the longer weekend. ❤

This week I have the honor of introducing Katie to you all! She is one of the kindest women I have met and is so down to Earth. Katie is happily married with two children, Charlie and Grayson, and one on the way.

Katie keeps motherhood real on her blog, Twelve and Six Blog. She shares her travel tips, DIY projects and fun foods. I swear she’s a jack of all trades and can pretty much do anything! Make sure to follow her on Instagram for daily stunning photos of her little babes and adventures.

I was able to do a little Q & A with Katie to see what’s important to her in motherhood. So excited to introduce her to you all!

Our Q & A with Katie:

1. Tell us a little about yourself, your child(ren), what you do for work and hobbies you have.

I’m a 30 year old mom of two (with one on the way), living in metro Atlanta, Georgia. I’m a work-at-home professional blogger and household CEO. When I’m not drowning in laundry or diapers, I love home decor, live music, trying new restaurants, and traveling to new places.

Katie with Charlie and Grayson

2. What would your pre-kid self think about you now if they had the chance to meet you?

My pre-kid self would probably have judged me for never washing my hair and the state of my house. I am sure my pre-kid self would have wondered why I am not able to handle it ALL. Little does she know…

3. What are you most proud of?

I’m most proud of my family. My kids, my husband, my home. It takes a lot of organization, love, and stamina to keep it all running smoothly and I think we do a great job as a team.

Katie with her family ❤

4. What is one thing you gave up after becoming a Mama, why?

Showering? No, but seriously. Um. I guess I gave up caring so much what other people thought. I quickly realized once I had the hardest most scrutinized job in the world, that worrying what others thought of me was a recipe for extra stress and unnecessary sadness. I let it go.

5. What is one thing you do now that you SWORE you’d never do before becoming a parent?

Lots of things. Most of them are coming out with my seven year old now that it feels like I don’t even have time to make rules for him. I swore he would never have a TV in his room. Oops.

6. Tell us about your most rewarding moment in motherhood.

Anytime my children voluntarily use their manners, act with kindness, or go out of their way to be helpful- I am the most proud. I feel like somewhere under all the crap I am doing something right.

Katie with her daughter, Charlie

7. Describe your most challenging moment in motherhood.

How can I choose one? There is always a new challenge. With Grayson, it’s the challenge of school age problems. Does he have enough friends? Is he behaving? Is the teacher telling the truth or is he? Why is he lying to me? It’s always something. With Charlie, it’s uncharted territory. She is my first kid to be so high needs and sensitive and every day is a curve ball. I guess if I had to choose one, the most challenging moment was when the decision was made for Grayon’s biological father to terminate rights and my husband to adopt him. Only because I was nervous about how it would impact him. (Fortunately, it has been nothing but positive!)

8. What do you do for only yourself now? If you don’t do something just for yourself now, why not?

I try to get some alone time in a nice bath every night. My husband is great about taking the kids when he gets home and not letting them bother me. Ha!

9. What do you think you are really good at with being a Mama?

I think I am really good at being realistic, listening to all sides of a situation, and not making rules and punishments that supersede special circumstances.

Katie’s family dressed in their Christmas gear!

10. How did this questionnaire make you feel?

Like Motherhood is hard and unpredictable, but there are always diamonds in the rough.

Thank you Katie for taking the time to answer my questions! ❤

Motherhood: Breaking the Looking Glass

Follow our blog, Motherhood: Breaking the Looking Glass, for more Mama features and stories on Motherhood from women like you.

Want to be featured too? Email us: contact@kindredtogether.com and tell us why!

--

--

Christina Picciotto
Motherhood

Co-founder and CEO of Kindred Together, an upcoming free app that helps connect mamas locally. Editor to Medium.com/motherhood. IG: @motherhoodboldly