Mom of Boys

Jessie Mandel
Motherhood
Published in
4 min readApr 24, 2017

It wasn’t up until last week when I realized how different it is to raise all boys compared to girls, especially because I am a girl.

Sam walked over to me after using the potty, pointed to his area and said, “Is this a bally?” A little loss for words and trying my hardest not to laugh I said, “Is what a bally?” He pulled on his testicle and said “This, is this a bally?” Of course Shawn was at work, my go to guy for anything boy related. I just simply said “Yep”, put on his underwear and shorts and walked away.

It then dawned on me; I’m a boy mom. Yes I use the #boymom all the time but I never really knew what it entailed. I have been dealing with their tiny little penises since day one. How to take care of it after the circumcision, wiping it for 2 years, and now making sure it stays in the potty while peeing.

For a second I thought, “Aww, I’ll never have the chance to explain a first period or PMS.” What I thought was sadness in that moment quickly changed to joy. My mouth curled into a smile as I said again, “I’ll never have to explain a first period or PMS!” No awkward conversation of why out of nowhere you start bleeding and have to shove things up there to make it stop for 7–10 days straight! All first stages of puberty or awkward penis conversations will immediately be turned over to Shawn, he’s the one who shares the same organ as them, he knows all about it. I’ll be the one waiting in the wings handing out condoms, or planning revenge on the first girl to break my baby’s hearts.

If you really think about it, a boy mom is a tough job. We are shaping the lives of future men. There are so many men out there who are complete A-holes. Cheaters, fakes, tools, d-bags, no one wants their son to grow up and become these guys. I was so lucky to marry someone like my husband. He is exactly what I want my boys to become when they grow up. Respectful, loyal, hardworking, family oriented, with the best sense of humor. I hope and pray we can mold them into three Shawn’s, with a little of my cooking skills and competitiveness.

Home made Mac & Cheese

Homemade Mac & Cheese Recipe:

No matter which you are raising, boy or girl they all love Mac and Cheese. I have never met a kid who does not like mac and cheese. Growing up my favorite mac and cheese was a tie between Kraft Spirals and Stouffers.

I’ve been making my recipe for Aiden since he started eating solid foods. Now I make it at least once a week. It’s a perfect side dish for the kids when they don’t want to eat the string beans or broccoli.

Sometimes I still make them Kraft spirals. The last time I made it was about two months ago. Aiden was watching me, I opened the packet with the cheese powder, poured it in, and he said “Ewww, what is that??” I tried to explain to him it was the cheese part of the mac and cheese. He wasn’t having it and refused to eat it that day.

I now stick with my original recipe. Try it out, I promise your kids will eat it up and ask for seconds. Plus I dare you not to eat the whole pot yourself, once a mac and cheese lover always a mac and cheese lover!

Mac & Cheese Recipe:

Ingredients:

2 ½ Cups Uncooked Elbows

4 Slices of American Cheese

2 Tbsp. Butter

½ Cup Milk

½ Tsp. Salt

Directions:

Fill a medium pot ¾ with water; bring to a boil over high heat.

Pour in the pasta and cook according to package about 8 minutes. Lower heat if the water is overflowing.

Strain the pasta and put back into the pot. Add the rest of the ingredients and stir constantly until creamy.

You can read more of Jessie’s writing on her blog and also follow her Instagramfor more tasty recipes and motherhood tales!

Motherhood: Breaking the Looking Glass

Follow our blog, Motherhood: Breaking the Looking Glass, for more stories on Motherhood from women like you.

Want to contribute a post? Email us: contact@kindredtogether.com and tell us why!

--

--

Jessie Mandel
Motherhood

I’m a mama of three boys who loves to cook, bake, eat, and talk about life’s adventures. Go to Dinnertableforfive.com for recipes and mom/wife/woman stories