Resilience

Bethany Lammott
Motherhood
Published in
3 min readMar 30, 2017

We are in the middle of transition in our family. We recently bought and moved into our first home (hello extra room!). I’ve been increasingly thankful it has happened now instead of three months from now with a newborn in tow. That of course will be another transition: becoming a family of four. My husband is going through work changes and I am going through changes as my body widens and stretches with each passing week.

I think about the other transitions my son will go through this year specific to him. Potty training (advice, anyone!?), new room, moving into a toddler bed, and most importantly, becoming a big brother. Sometimes I almost feel guilty when I think about all these things. Is my child going to be overwhelmed by all of this? Should we (could we) have timed something better? Is he ready for all of this?

I am reminded though that children are resilient. They entered this world kicking and screaming and have proved that they are strong enough to enter and do life, right alongside us. They may not always seem ready and willing to learn new things, but somehow they always do. Perhaps this is due in part to our persistence and persuasiveness as parents but also think it is largely due to their curiosity… to virtually everything.

They do not always think the way we do either. They do not have two or three decades of trial and error. They do not think, “Well last time this happened…” Instead, they probably do some more kicking and screaming, and then you know what? They adapt.

It is amazing to me how we as humans were made to go through changes and adapt to them. Of course with the help of our parents or mentors we learned the proper way to navigate the emotions associated and respond properly to the new phases life threw at us. It was my mother who taught me that complaining about new situations was wrong and would not be beneficial in the end (mama is always right). I learned along the way to keep my chin up and smile and know things would get better.

So why do I worry over what may seem insignificant to others? I mean, after all, we are talking about potty training for goodness sakes! I suppose because this is my first time too. This is my first time leading a little boy through these transitions. This is my first time watching a baby become a child with a front row seat to it. This is my first time becoming a Mom of multiple children. Everything is new for me too.

In the midst of this, I remind myself not to worry. Can’t I take this time to learn something new about myself? Can’t I use these changes to help mold my son into a strong and independent individual? For him to learn to look at life as something full of surprises? That even with the things in life that are seemingly hard, greatness can come afterwards?

I think so.

You can read more from Bethany on her blog, Punk and Bird. She also posts photos of her daily adventures through motherhood on her Instagram, be sure to follow her there as well!

Follow our blog, Motherhood: Breaking the Looking Glass, for more stories on Motherhood from mothers like you.

Want to contribute a post? Email us: contact@kindredtogether.com and tell us why!

--

--