Gabriella Youngblood
Motivate the Mind
Published in
2 min readJan 22, 2022

--

Actions Speak Louder Than Words

Overview

If you do something as a child it should be a learning experience and then as you grow, left in the past. It should not define who you are. They absorb so much information in at one time that it can be a lot for them to process. Children learn as they get older about what’s right and what’s wrong.

Recently I’ve been told that I’m “too controlling and bossy”. I will admit as a kid yes I was both of these things but being an adult in college I myself feel like I have changed.

I don’t tell my sister what to do anymore and I always ask her where she wants to go or what she wants to do. I always try to include everyone I’m with in what’s going on and what the plans are.

Having a kid yes, I am controlling when it comes to her but not too controlling. She is only 13 months old and if things need to be done at a certain time, they need to be done. I don’t ask anyone much except an occasional “can you turn the TV down a bit?”

These certain people that have made it “known” to me have expressed their concerns in a way that has been hurtful. They have felt like it was their right to bash on me for things I did when I was a child by bringing up the past. They make me feel like being controlling or bossy at all is not okay.

I normally have never been the one to care what people say or think about me. Having it come from family members and people I care about actually hurts worse than friends or acquaintances. It has made me second guess everything I do now because I am constantly wondering if somehow it’s going to be turned around on me later. I believe in “actions speak louder than words” but words can still hurt.

There is no doubt that nobody is perfect. We all make mistakes or say things we don’t mean. It’s just about how you approach any of that to someone.

Get to know me more

Insta, twitter, facebook and tiktok.

--

--