An Intriguing Question that forced me to Think

Shoba Rao
Motivate the Mind
Published in
2 min readJan 19, 2022
Photo by Og Mpango from Pexels

I was listening to a discourse on the Bhagavad Gita. The guru asked the question:

Why do you believe in God?

All kinds of answers emerged.

The fear factors.

Who else will grant us our wishes and desires?

We have been taught about God since we were kids.

Nature and its defined designs and miracles.

Birth and death.

Yes, these were spontaneous answers and interesting too.

This set me deliberating on why I believe in God. My answer was also stimulating in its own way. LOVE.

Do you feel love and the sense of being loved when you pray or have God in mind?

I am not sure if you do, but let’s see; is there a sense of warmth enveloping you when you are in association with God, be it a simple prayer, a conversation, or being in the presence of God in a religious place?

Love is a powerful weapon and as in all relationships, even our relationship with God is, Work in Progress.

There are times we feel He just does not exist and our prayers fall on deaf ears. Some other times we question His intention — why are there natural disasters, why do people die young and why do some suffer, why do the good have to face trials, and so on. As humans our questions are many and I think we have all questioned God at some point in time.

But the essence of belief in the supreme power is pure love; unlimited and untarnished.

God’s love is an experience, it is a powerful feeling.

Donna VanLiere, Finding Grace: Why do you believe in God?” the woman asked me in the busy corridor. I don’t remember the answer I gave. It was probably too long and rattled in her ears. I wish I could go back and answer her again. “Because HE believes in me,” I would say. Isn’t that enough?

--

--