As A Quality Time Person

Titin Alfiani
Motivate the Mind
Published in
4 min readJun 11, 2022
Photo by Kimson Doan on Unsplash

“It’s not more time you need. It’s more quality use of the time you already have.” ― Alan Cohen

It’s not without reason why people refer to me as someone who likes to spend time with the people I love. I’m happy when I meet friends, talk from Sabang to Merauke, talk randomly, share thoughts, and share jokes.

I feel my life is complete.

A few days ago, I felt very bored. I am confused about my situation. It’s like my head is full of random things. I finally invited one of my friends to have lunch with me.

For more than an hour, we chat here and there. Discuss any matters whether it’s important or not. I try to share my worries so far and vice versa. Yes, time passed as if I was with my other friends when we were together.

Although now there are not many trusted people who are close to my location, so the choice of people for me to hang out with is getting less and less.

After lunch, one big thing I realized was that I was relieved. Even though I’m just telling stories and being listened to well by my friends. Already Until then. No more. It turns out that I just need a friend to talk to and let go of my anxiety, and I have to get to know her character. I just can’t live with only sweet chats. We meet and talk.

And I realized there are fewer people I can trust to know my stories in detail. I really have to be a trusted person; I’m brave and comfortable sharing. It turns out I can’t open up to new people that fast. I set my own mortal boundaries that make new people no easier to believe than old people. This is because my trauma about trusting new people easily.

I also realize that trust is the most important thing in every relationship. like my father. He gave his full trust to me to wander away from home for almost a decade. How can the relationship go well if there is no trust?

As someone who prioritizes quality time to strengthen relationships, I realize I will be in a circle of people who also like quality time. Both think that time is the most valuable thing in life and that not just anyone can take our time. Only the chosen people who have been trusted can spend time together.

As a quality-time person, I feel valued and valuable every time I meet my friends and share all the complaints of life. I can get to know my friends’ characters and learn how to communicate well. I’m also more aware of the timeline.

In the end, what makes my life not empty is quality time with everyone.

In my opinion, the concept of quality time is not only about yourself and others. Quality time with you and yourself is also vital.

Quality time with ourselves until we finally feel fulfilled in our hearts in that solitude.

We are so ready to meet other people and start the day. I understand why waking up early and working is not easy.

I need self-sufficiency first to be able to start all activities. And yes, all of that can be obtained from enough quality time with yourself.

Furthermore, I feel whole when I take the time to spend quality time with the people closest to me. For some reason, I feel like I live in the middle of this chaotic world. Fortunately, my friends are not toxic people who can trouble other people. I love them, and I’m proud to have friends like them.

“The amount of time you spend interceding for others is a testimony to the love you have for them.” ― Bobby Gene Redding

Somehow time flies so fast when spent with loved ones. to the point that sometimes we don’t realize we’ve been with them all day, and strangely enough, we’re not bored.

Actually, this is also one of my questions, why isn’t it easy to get bored when you hang out with your closest friends?

But not having to meet every day, in my opinion, every time meet is also not good. It is better to meet at the right moment, so the meeting is more appreciated and expensive.

I usually meet friends when I have the chance. At that meeting, my friends and I were able to tell what had happened in their lives since the last time we met like that.

And the time pattern also varies from person to person. Some are once a week, some are once a month, some are once a year, and some are even once every few years. But that’s not important. It is clear that our communication style is the same, so whether it’s every day, every week, or every 2 years, it won’t be a problem. The theme is quality time with someone close.

“Creating lifetime experiences with who you care is simple and easy over the holidays seasons… Just have a lunch date, create a memory book or video, spend a little quality time, that is more meaningful than money physical gift.” ― nick catricala

--

--