Begin A New Month Infused with Grace and Hope

A Practical Take on New Month, New Goals

Delanea D Davis
Motivate the Mind
3 min readDec 1, 2021

--

Image Designed by Author on Canva

When a new month begins, I often enter it with anxiousness and regret. I find myself anxious about how the month will unfold yet regretful about what failed to happen prior. Anxiety and guilt are heavy, and beginning a new month in this funk disrupts hope.

If you are looking for a way to jump-start this new month, then you are in the right place! This post will give you four practical steps to begin your new month refreshed and hopeful.

1). CELEBRATE
If you are like me, you don’t take the time to pause and pat yourself on the back enough. So, I can’t think of a better way to start your month off than to take a moment and rejoice!

It may be more challenging for some of you than others to determine what is worthy of celebration from your prior month. So let me give you this quick tip,

NOTHING IS TOO SMALL TO CELEBRATE!

It may take some intentionality, but I know you can think of at least one thing. I would recommend you not move to the next step until you challenge yourself to declare a specific reason that you can celebrate November. I’ll bet you will come up with more than you expected!

2). RELEASE
What do you need to release from last month deliberately? Here, I suggest you consider things that did or did not happen last month that could compromise your progress this month if you don’t let go of them. Things that nag at you and entice you to drag your feet, stall, or give up altogether must be released here.

LET THEM GO!

3). SET YOUR INTENTIONS
What are you expecting from God and yourself in this new month? I encourage you to create a powerful statement of Intent. Not only will this statement ignite your hope, but it will also give you something to reflect on throughout the month. This statement can be used as your compass to keep you moving in the direction of your goals.

4). WHAT ARE YOU WELCOMING
When you decide what you are welcoming into your life, you permit yourself to expect to see it. You also allow yourself to establish boundaries to ensure you are holding space for what you are welcoming.

For example, if last month was taxing, you can decide that you are welcoming rest this month. To invite rest, you will have to create boundaries around your time and be a great steward of your yes and no to ensure there is room in your life for the rest you desire.

I hope you will make time to engage with this beginning of the month activity. I started engaging with these steps in April, and this practice has allowed me to begin each month with gratitude instead of anxiety and regret.

I am cheering for you and wishing you the best month possible.

You Got This!!

Thank you for reading.

I would love to know:

What is one thing you are welcoming into this new month?

--

--

Delanea D Davis
Motivate the Mind

A writer of hope. A reviver of hope. Writing to ignite hope in others; spurring them on in their faith. - Hebrews 10:24 Hope Lives Here✨