The Good and Bad of Being Occupied

Janet Das
Motivate the Mind
Published in
3 min readAug 18, 2021
Photo by Debby Hudson on Unsplash

Everything requires work, whether it has to do with your job, household chores, exercising, maintaining relationship or even something as simple as eating. Nothing is done on its own. You have to put in effort one way or other.

I would not really have pondered on it had I not have a son, who would turn into an adult soon (as early as next year). Hence, in the process of the time crunch to train him in several areas before he ventures into the world, I have been pondering a lot before guiding him. One of the key points of discussion has been work, importance and the need for work.

Often times, I am physically and mentally drained due to the never-ending work I do for my family, my house, my job and myself. I often dream of not having to work so much. However, when there are days when I can take a break, not having work to do has made my day somewhat directionless and me lethargic. Only then, I realize how grateful I am to have work in life. That is in fact what keeps me going and flowing. I cannot imagine being without work for more than two-three days.

That brings me to the point that does work have to be treated as something to dread all the time. Whether I like it or not, I do have to do work, so why not start enjoying it. What really can I do to make my work something I look forward to?

One thing that is crucial and helpful in changing my perspective is that I stop seeing it as a burden and start seeing it as a blessing and an opportunity to make a difference. Work is not my enemy hellbent on destroying me. Of course, the distinction has to be done. If there is really something hindering our lives and bringing negativity, that has to be dealt with and getting rid of it is crucial. Apart from that situation, change of my attitude towards work is a must. They say that a battle is fought in our minds, and that exactly is the step to changing our perspective. Next crucial step is to pause to see what kind of people I surround myself with. What I hear constantly would definitely change my perspective, so looking for people who love and respect the work that they do is a must. That would surely rub into us as well.

Having said that, it is a given thing that there would be days when I would moan due to pressure of work, but there would also be days when I do not do any work and then miss being busy and occupied. Whatever the case be, variety is the spice of life. Work is what keeps us motivated and pushes us to do our best. Work is also what makes us leave our beds every morning. Hence, let’s be grateful for whatever we have on our plates and relish it.

--

--

Janet Das
Motivate the Mind

A mom, reader, writer, thinker and learner, I have learnt some of my best lessons by failing due to which, I now have a passion to learn new things.