Believing in yourself is the key.

Saroj Choudhary
Motivate the Mind
Published in
4 min readOct 18, 2021

“Believe in yourself”. “You are what you believe”. I am pretty sure you have heard these multiple times. But have you believed this? ever? Because if you truly did then you would have succeeded. Even if you didn’t you might have realized its power. It is not easy to believe. Because believing requires patience, faith, and willpower. Especially when you want to accomplish something you might have to wait to work on it during the process.

Source: Better life thoughts

And let me tell you it is not easy because there are going to be so many obstacles to distract you from your original goal. This is the hard part. Suppose there is something you really want to accomplish. You have your eyes set and decided to go for it even if you feel like you lack something. And sometimes you might lack something but believing in yourself can fill that gap and make you perfect.

So now you are ready to achieve your goal. But there are people talking. Talking things. They tell you, “ Oh honey! That’s not possible!”. You ignore. Because that’s what people do. They talk until you show them who you are and then they start talking about someone else. But it is not about them. It is about you. You do you. People have a tough time overcoming this. What are they going to think? What if I fail? Trust me, half of the people quit because they think what people talk about matters.

But think about it. Does it really matter? What anyone has to say? Do you live for others or yourself? You have one life and you have to live it with no regrets. There are so many amazing things out there and don’t let some random opinions stop you from doing what you love.

In the end, it doesn’t matter. What matters is you. No regrets. No guilts. Just completely believe in yourself. Let me tell you a personal story that changed my perception completely.

Source: Times of India

A few years back when I was a little insecure and not so confident wanted to learn driving. I don’t know but I wasn’t even confident enough to ask anyone about it. One of my cousins visited us and was staying for few weeks with us. He was elder to me and knew how to drive. One day he said, “Come on let me teach you how to drive. You will have to learn it someday anyway”. I was quite happy but so scared. Then I started and I sucked obviously as it was my first time.

It was past an hour since he was teaching me and I wasn’t getting any better. So we made a stop. There were neighbors walking around for their night walks. I looked at them and the lack of confidence was quite clear on my face. I am not even sure if any of them even gossiped about me but the perception of them thinking that I can’t do anything no matter how hard I work was killing me. I know it makes no sense. Sometimes your overthinking is what stops you.

Then my cousin looked at me and told,” Don’t look at them. Once you start looking at them you will never look at yourself to improve. People out there will not wish for your success and you are not answerable to any of them even if you don’t succeed. You are your power. If you want to succeed, just go for it. No second thoughts. Just believe in yourself and see how everything changes.”

That day, I might not have learned how to drive but I learned a very important lesson. And I am grateful for it. Since then, I succeeded at every task that I thought is not for me. There were many obstacles but I became careless towards it. That’s how you overcome it. And fast forward today, I exceed my own expectations of what I can do.

You have no idea what your real potential is. Just believe and commit. No matter what happens. Remember, like the five fingers of a hand, no one’s the same. So you are not those people. You are what you believe you are and it is the key to your success.

“Be crazy enough to believe you can achieve anything in your life”

--

--

Saroj Choudhary
Motivate the Mind

SMM, Content Writer and Marketing Enthusiast. I write about Personal development and Marketing. Follow my Marketing blog: https://medium.com/@allthingsmarketing