Distractions: How do You Block the Noise and Concentrate?

Toluwalope Ajetunmobi
Motivate the Mind
Published in
3 min readNov 5, 2021

--

How do you cope with distraction when you’ve to focus and stay on a task?

I don’t know about you, but it is almost impossible for me to concentrate on a single task for hours without any interruption.

It gets annoying sometimes. Like you’re determined to finish certain tasks during specific periods. But before you know it, you’re already using twice the allocated time on that task.

For example, I can write 1000 words in 1 to 2 hours. So, I usually allocate 3 to 4 hours to finish a 1000 words piece. However, sometimes, I take an entire day if not careful. But on some days, I can finish 3 or 4 pieces without breaking a sweat.

How?

I stay on task…

It’s pretty hard to stay on task without making an effort these days. Just a little thing can trigger distraction. A ping on your phone, and you’re lost for hours!

What do you do when you need to turn down the noise and focus for a few hours?

In this piece, I’ll share some of the strategies that have worked wonders for me.

Create a Schedule

I usually create a schedule for my entire day with allocated period for each task. For this to work, you must be as realistic as possible.

For example, if you need an hour to finish a task, give an hour 30 minutes or 2 hours. That way, you don’t get to set an unrealistic timeline for yourself.

Also, make sure you include breaks and relaxation between tasks. Ideally, after 2 hours or so of working, you should take a break.

Do away with Phones

My phones are my most significant distraction! And I’m sure it is like that for most people as well. So, on days, I need to focus on a task without any distraction, I find a way to remove my phones from my immediate vicinity.

If I’m prepared to take extreme measures, I switch them off and keep them far from me. Some days, I just keep them far from me.

So, when I get the urge to check for notifications, it’s just too stressful! That way, I continue to focus.

Start Your Day Early or Work late

Work odd hours! Find what works for you and stick with it. When I start work early, I’ve found that I stay on track for at least 3 to 4 hours. Same for working in the middle of the night.

Find what hours work for you and stick to them.

Use a Public Place with People around

I like to work with people around!

Sounds almost counterintuitive, yes?

I don’t want distractions, but I want people around. So, if you’re like me, the best way to do that is to use a restaurant or café. I’ve found that I can concentrate better when I use a restaurant or a café.

Use Music

On some days, music helps my focus and concentration, especially on tasks I don’t like or find boring. Playing some of my favorite songs helps to handle those tasks.

Another trick I use is to plug in my earphones to avoid distractions from people. If I find myself distracted by the people around, I just plug in my ears and continue with my work!

What do you use to improve your focus when there are so many distractions around you? Let me know in the comment section.

--

--

Toluwalope Ajetunmobi
Motivate the Mind

Web3 Content Manager and Writer | Exploring Content Marketing in the Web3 Space