Five Unusual Things I’m Thankful For This Thanksgiving

Sonia Grace
Motivate the Mind
Published in
6 min readNov 24, 2021

Though I no longer fit in the Victoria’s Secret catalog, I’m thankful to have an excuse to splurge on inclusive bras on Amazon and Etsy.

Photo by Ann on Unsplash

For most Americans, Thanksgiving involves time with family, stuffing oneself until the seams come undone, watching a football game and taking a moment to be thankful for everything one has. Like most people, I always reserve my thanks for the big stuff like a raise, having loved ones, housing and food, and good health. These are a big deal and shouldn’t be taken for granted. I’m thankful to have all of them and many more. However, there are other small, less important, unusual, almost unnoticeable things that enhance my life and therefore should be acknowledged. So this Thanksgiving, I’m taking the time to honor five unusual things that I’m grateful for.

Photo by Joao Tzanno on Unsplash

1) My book collection

As a writer, reading is an essential part of success. Luckily, I established a consistent reading habit when I was only two years old. I would take one of my mother’s Mills and Boon novels, stare at a page for a while, just like I saw her do, then rip it off, as I thought she was doing.

Three decades later, I do less tearing and more filling up of two entire bookshelves in my apartment. My book collection ranges from street fiction, such as The Prada Plan series from Ashley Antoinette to classical plays, like Henrik Ibsen’s An Enemy Of The People, five Nicholas Sparks’ novels, books to improve writing and editing, such as Elizabeth Lyon’s Manuscript Makeover, Bibles, self-improvement books like The S Factor by Sheila Kelley and texts in both Kiswahili (Kizuizini by Joseph Muthee) and Kikuyu (Guthoma Gikuyu), and many more.

Some of these books are gifts, others I bought and a few were left behind by guests. The rest I accumulate whenever my neighborhood library decides to do some cleaning and puts the old books out in a box by the door with a sign that says, “FREE.” I can never resist a free book.

This grand collection of books is not only a great way to decorate my place, but the knowledge I’ve gained from them is immeasurable. And for that I am thankful.

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

2) My boobies

Thanks to a lot of couch-camping during this pandemic, I’ve joined the COVID weight gain club. Thanks to good genetics and luck, a considerable chunk of those pounds are in my breasts. All of my baggy t-shirts are now snug around the chest and my dresses fit better than a pin-up girl from the 1940s. This is a huge blessing for me because I was such a late bloomer in high school and through college. I barely had anything that would be considered cleavage but now, I have more than enough to qualify for thirsty selfies on Instagram.

Vanity aside, this new bountiful blessing is helping me maintain a positive outlook on my body and not stress so much about the weight gain. In fact, I no longer feel bad that I’m too big for the Victoria’s Secret catalog. Instead, I’m thankful that I now have an excuse to splurge on a wide variety of inclusive bras on Etsy and Amazon.

Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

3) My favorite comedians

I’m a connoisseur of comedy, from all the greats to the aspiring ones on social media. My G.O.A.T. is Chris Rock, thanks to his 2004 special, Never Scared and his movie, Good Hair. Rounding up my top five are Trevor Noah, Leslie Jones, Chelsea Handler and Lonnie Love. Honorable mentions: John Mulaney, Zainab Johnson and Kat Williams. On social media, I’m obsessed with James Andre Jefferson Jr. and D. Springs, both who use Instagram to create some of the most hilarious videos and pop culture commentary on the internet.

During these dark times of the corona virus pandemic, watching and listening to these comedians has helped me laugh through a lot of challenges. If I’m feeling depressed or stressed out, I’ll re-watch Rock’s SNL monologues or watch The Daily Show with Noah.

Last year, I had to drive from Iowa to Los Angeles and back. I was able to stay awake for the thirty-hour drive (each way) because I was listening to comedy. Also, it’s hard to get road rage when you’re laughing about Williams making fun of the election or Johnson chronicling her dating struggles.

Wherever these comedians are going for Thanksgiving, I hope they get served the first plate and the biggest slice of sweet potato pie.

Photo by Alexander Shatov on Unsplash

4) You Tube tutorials

They say you can find anything on the internet and if you want to test this theory, pick any skill you’ve always wanted to learn. I guarantee you there’s a YouTube tutorial about it.

Some of the skills I’ve acquired from YouTube tutorials include: how to hot-oil treat my hair, how to make a self-tape audition, how to decorate a wall with old CDs, how to write query letters and even how to operate a lawn mower.

Right now, going to a public gym still feels unsafe, even if I’m fully vaccinated and wearing a mask. So, I bought a home elliptical machine from Amazon. Unfortunately, the directions to assemble it were worse than any Ikea purchase. Thankfully, a person on YouTube had bought the exact same elliptical and uploaded a very helpful tutorial on how to put it together and tear it down if I ever need to.

Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

5) Protests

These might perhaps be the most unusual things to be grateful for, but given the events of these past two years, I felt it was important to acknowledge them. There have been protests all over the world, whether it’s fighting for racial justice, labor rights, standing up to dictators, LGBTQ rights, climate change, women’s rights and all other human rights.

Protests like these are a chance for people to fight for what they believe, push for change and create a better world.

Protests are a great opportunity to learn about other people, their cultures, history, and different struggles. This can lead to empathy for others and inspire change in our own lives.

Protests are also one of the biggest reminders that despite all the chaos going on in the world, we’re not alone in our individual fights. Even if we can’t support a protest in person, social media has been a great way to get involved. This is especially important during a pandemic, and the holidays, because during these times, any type of suffering or injustice feels quadrupled.

Living in America, I’m extra thankful that we have the guaranteed right to protest, something that is not afforded in some countries.

Happy Thanksgiving to you, and yours.

--

--

Sonia Grace
Motivate the Mind

Sonia Grace is a Kenyan-American writer, musician & SAG actor, whose work has appeared on Midnight & Indigo, Unlabelled, & 88 Ways Music Changed My Life (Book)