Four Approaches For Getting A Lot Done in A Day

These four components will eliminate stress, anxiety, and propel you toward a day of success

Tessa Koller
Motivate the Mind
4 min readMar 29, 2022

--

Photo by Valeriia Miller from Pexels

In my many passions and careers, I am a juggler and am constantly motivated from the second I wake up in the morning.

What I do for a living takes hours, days, weeks, and sometimes months before a single job is complete. I am a bridal alterations seamstress, a content creator for the world of fine art, and I’m a writer.

Regardless of how my health is treating me, I’m always working on something while I’m down. Life, especially mine, can get rather overwhelming and I sometimes am not always the most with it if I’m stressed or exhausted.

These days, I’ve discovered ways to effectively tackle my many endeavors with a clear mind. Meditating upon rising and spending at least an hour of the morning in silence has facilitated this and I’ve been more productive.

If you’re a juggler, then you probably understand that multitasking isn’t the best approach for achieving your goals in a day’s time. It takes a few components to implement in your daily life to get yourself to a solid ebb and flow and stick to it.

These are the four components that make up a fulfilling, enriching, and accomplished day:

A must-do list, what I do before anything else

A must-do list is how I weave my health and wellness into my work-life balance. In the morning, I must eat a nourishing breakfast, exercise, and take my supplements. In the afternoon, I must eat a nourishing lunch, take a brief nap, and do some more walking or exercise.

A must-do list should be for yourself, your health and overall wellness. Believe me, I once neglected all those things for the pursuit of success and the results were catastrophic for my mental and physical wellbeing. Balance is something I seek and work on daily for the sake of staying collected and sane.

A to-do list with actionable bullet points

I’ve got my to-do list written in three places: one on my Google calendar which is connected to the calendar on my phone, the second is a planner, and the third is another type of planner where I’ll add more specifics.

Along with my list, I’ll include bullet points and begin with an action word or verb. This helps me visualize completing a task while limiting nonsense distractions. When I’m writing, my phone volume and vibration is off and I don’t respond to demands from others before I’ve met my own.

Clearly seeing what you’ve got to do will help you establish a routine. It’s these routines that bring us to where we want to go and what we want to achieve.

For instance, in the morning, I spend at least two hours writing and creating visual content.

In the afternoon, between the hours of 1:30 PM and 4:00 PM, I’ll work on an art project.

In the evening after dinner, between 5:30 and 8:00, I’ll work on whatever sewing projects need attention.

Dedication and Patience

Even if you’re not in a creative field or an entrepreneur, every profession consists of dedication and patience. Without them, your ebb and flow will be compromised and you won’t have a successful workday.

As someone who works with her hands every day, I must do so effectively and with a level head. Dedication and patience go hand-in-hand, and it takes a while to build or achieve anything.

Mental and physical fuel

There are various types of mental and physical fuel, but I’m referring to all of them. Fuel is derived from exercising as it benefits the mind, brain, and body as a whole. Healthy food and nutrition is another source and I pencil in time to refuel no matter how much work I have on my to-do list.

Concluding Thoughts

In order to achieve a lot in a day, these are the four components you might want to consider: a must-do list (for your health and wellness), a to-do list (for your work), dedication and patience, and mental and physical fuel.

People don’t realize how much they’re juggling in a given day, in their waking lives. It helps tremendously to create a structure and a system allowing you to get closer to achieving your goals. It also helps to clearly see and use specific language in your to-do lists so you can visualize making it to the finish line.

If you liked this piece, give it a clap and let me know how you follow through in your workday that’s beneficial for you. Be sure you are following along and subscribed to Motivate the Mind.

Want to read more from me? Follow my Medium profile and stay up-to-date on my pieces.

--

--

Tessa Koller
Motivate the Mind

Writer, Motivational Public Speaker, Health/Well-being & Disability Advocate, World Traveler, and Artist