How To Change the World?

Victoria Anteri
Motivate the Mind
Published in
3 min readJun 29, 2022

Remind yourself you are the world first.

Фотограф: lilartsy: https://www.pexels.com/ru-ru/photo/1249525/

Why did we create and continue to exploit a system which works only for a small percentage of people? And why aren’t we changing it if we clearly see how poorly it works?

It may seem quite dramatic but I’ve been thinking about it for maybe 10 years or so. My mind is constantly trying to figure it out. I guess it’s my illness or a hobby. It makes me miserable at times but it also turns every day into a meaningful quest.

We could discuss the countless amount of problems, blame leaders or blame each other, but instead let’s try to understand this simple truth, ‘We get what we want.”

Everything around you is who you are and what you want. If you are trying to convince yourself it’s not true then you understand very little about yourself.

Think about your life and your environment. Then try to answer these questions,” What do people around me want? What do I want?”. You will probably say, ‘We want to be happy, healthy, free, loved, peaceful, beautiful, etc’. We think we want it, and others think they want it. Maybe on some higher level, it is the truth but down here it often isn’t.

In reality, people want to be right, powerful, in control, safe, better than others, chosen, acknowledged, and so on. And there you have it! We have extreme wealth, beauty, power, security systems, competitions, a variety of escapism, and comfort. We have so many ways to protect ourselves, numb the pain, avoid problems, prove we are better than others, be seen without feeling seen, to feel better without becoming better.

And… you know what? I don’t want to point fingers at some ghosts, so I’ll throw myself under the bus.

I’ve chosen to watch some show for 5 hours instead of putting in the work to actually deal with a problem. I’ve chosen to be accepted instead of being true to myself. I’ve chosen to smile instead of screaming and crying. I’ve chosen to stay in control over building intimacy with a person by being vulnerable.

So, no wonder I don’t have close intimate relationships! I’ve never chosen it over something else. Instead, I’ve chosen to hide the truth to feel safer and to ignore myself to block the pain. Right now I’m safe. Is this what I wanted? Yes! Is this really what I wanted? No!

In the same way, as humanity, we have to choose peace over control and truth over comfortable illusions, and love over security.

As of today, not enough people want this kind of world. We don’t even have enough courage to accept who we are. How are we going to accept others? We don’t care how we feel and force ourselves to do what we should. How can we say we are ready to care about how other living beings feel?

First, we have to clearly see when we are creating a safe space or unsafe space with a mechanism to survive in it. Or when we are creating an environment in which we would thrive or cutting off pieces of ourselves to fit into an environment that was created by someone who doesn’t care about us.

Those are very general examples and observations that are meant to be more like a hint rather than a concrete answer. But also nothing is concrete. When you observe this world long enough, you will see that collective existence, life, and reality aren’t structured, logical, and solid as we would like them to be. Everything moves and breathes in a special way. I guess we should treat this world as one living organism. And right now, how does it feel? What does it want? What is it trying to create? Why? Who has been living inside of it? Who is living here now?

Perhaps we could manage to create the perfect world, but for whom?

--

--

Victoria Anteri
Motivate the Mind

I am fascinated by the depth of human nature. Writing about acceptance, emotions and healing. https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC7rg-fEz_pOfgROftKNe6sQ