How To Cope With Grief

Maytha
Motivate the Mind
Published in
2 min readFeb 11, 2022

This is how I’m dealing with my sadness.

Photo by Slavcho Malezanov on Unsplash

It’s been four days since my grandfather passed. This has been challenging for me as this is the third death of a family member, while I’m away from my family living abroad. For so many reasons that I have accepted that I’ll probably be living away from them for a long time, I needed only one to go back.

I still knew I wouldn't go.

So how do I deal with this?

Stir emotions of sadness confusion shock and pain, yet struggle to cry.

The tears just won’t come out. I am still processing this, but deep in my soul I’ve come to peace with my feelings. I’ve let go of the need to explain or judge myself and how I feel.

But grief is still something we need to live in order to release it. Covering it up and running away from feeling into it, will just keep it in a box at the corner of the heart. And that will create a blockage that does not serve us.

So I decided to sit with it. I used affirmations to bring comfort, and positive awareness to my heart. I also created a subliminal to support the subconscious mind with this process.

More patience.

More love.

More gentleness with myself.

It is great to surround yourself with loved ones and share good memories you had with the person who transitioned. Feel the love you have for them and know they transitioned to a better place.

I gave myself permission to do nothing, for few days, even though I was still in denial of grief and did not shed a tear.

I don't really know if the tears will come later, but I won’t force them and I’ll wait. I honour my own process with how I’m feeling and I give myself all the time I need.

For anyone dealing with grief, my heart goes out to you. Know that your loved one never left and will always live in your heart, cherish the good memories.

Sending lots of love.

--

--