How To Live A Life Without Regrets

Death teaches us a lot about life

Melly Bonas Watson
Motivate the Mind
2 min readFeb 18, 2022

--

Photo by Antonio Guillem on Shutterstock

I’ve had my fair share of life lessons.

My parents and grandparents had died by the time I turned 31. It’s completely changed me as a person. I take the people that matter to me more seriously, tell them I love them as often as I can because I understand how finite life is.

We’re constantly juggling things we need to do with things we want to do. In the midst of day-to-day life, it can be hard to know which things we need to prioritize to prevent us from being full of regrets at the end of our lives.

According to Bronnie Ware in her book The Top Five Regrets of the Dying the top three regrets are:

  1. Not saying I love you enough to the people that matter to you that you
  2. Not following your dreams
  3. Not staying in touch with people you care about

So remember life is a gift. It is promised to no one. Whilst most people know this on a theoretical level, it’s not until we lose someone or suffer from a life-threatening illness that we come to understand this ourselves.

So look after the people you love. Tell the people that matter to you that you love them whenever you can, and follow your dreams even if they scare the living daylights out of you.

--

--

Melly Bonas Watson
Motivate the Mind

Content creator. Fiction writer. Book lover. An advocate of neurodiversity, kindness, and following your writing dreams.