Dr. Surbhi Bajaj
Motivate the Mind
Published in
3 min readSep 28, 2023

--

I fall in love with you, yet again

Photo by Dane Deaner on Unsplash

While stirring the boiling tea, I cast another look at them. They looked adorable. I touched them, yet again, all the more lovingly.

As my eyes were fixed on the fresh faces, tea erupted out of the pan, dousing the flame and breaking my trance.

Uffo! Another task for my tired bones!

As I cleaned the mess from the stovetop, my attention kept returning to them. My darlings!

Aaj fir tum pe pyaar aaya hai

Behad aur beshumar aaya hai

(I fall in love with you yet again….)

I didn't realize that I'd been singing this song, initially softly and later loud enough to be heard by my man, who'd been engrossed in his laptop as usual.

He tiptoed into the kitchen and hugged me from behind. "Why didn't you tell me right away?" he murmured into my ears. His eyes spoke volumes of the emotions my song had aroused.

I, on the other hand, gave a confused look. "Tell you! What?"

"Yehi, ki aaj fir tumko mujh pe pyar aaya hai," he teased me.

"What? but…..," I was about to say something and then realized that he’d got a wrong message.

"Baba, mujhe pyar in par aaya hai," (I’m falling in love with them)I pointed towards the freshly cleaned boxes arranged in the rack placed on my kitchen shelf.

"Oh, is it? I thought I'm the lucky one," he winked at me, gave a peck on my cheek and left the kitchen so that I could continue with my newfound love.

Yes! That’s the way to a woman’s heart. To accept her the way she is. Along with all her idiosyncrasies.

I’m a lazy person when it comes to dusting and cleaning the containers in my kitchen. I know they need my attention but I keep ignoring them until one fine day when the grease suddenly wakes me up from a deep slumber.

Then I scrub them like crazy, the containers as well as the rack. When I place them back at their designated place, I cannot help but pour all my love over my darlings.

For a day or two, now and then, I return to the kitchen to adore the boxes. "Kitne Sundar lag rahe hain!" (How beautiful they look!) I tell my man. He smiles and agrees, unconditionally.

"Haan, lag rahe hain!"

(Yes, they do!)

He’s found the way to my heart by enjoying the little things I enjoy.

He's found the way to my heart by letting me be me.

He's found the way to my heart by accepting that he's not the only love of my life. Sometimes, I'm deeply in love with the freshly scrubbed spice boxes as well.

*************************

Do you fall in love with your kitchen rack, or boxes, or curtains?

Do you celebrate the little joys of life without waiting for the bigger ones to come your way?

If you do, give me a high five.

God bless you!

--

--

Dr. Surbhi Bajaj
Motivate the Mind

Living in the present! Sharing experiences in simple words! Seeking contentment by spreading positivity.