Skatebard's Ecstatic Theater
Motivate the Mind
Published in
2 min readFeb 9, 2022

--

Making Love to the Machine, or How I Built a Basic Home Studio on a Budget

I accumulated some basic cheap hardware. I used them to learn how sequencers, samplers and synths work.

I downloaded Caustic and FL Studio Mobile.

I saved money and worked extra hard. I had some money to spend. I bought a good gaming computer by watching for deals.

It took 6 months to buy all the parts.

A few months later I bought a digital-audio interface. I played around with free daws like Tracktion and my interface (Scarlett 2i2) cane with Ableton Lite. I learned how DAWs work.

Then I waited a year and was gifted enough money to buy FL Studio Producer Edition.

I boned up on my music skills and learned more about songwriting and drum patterns.

I listened to music 8 hours a day.

Now I’m learning how FL Studio works.

I used obtaining the gear to make the kind of music I love and then writing some songs as a way to motivate myself to endure through thyroid cancer, autism, and PTSD.

It’s helped me to heal and to forgive myself and others. It gave me something to look forward to when I was seriously ill.

It’s probably not going to work for everyone. But if you are struggling or going through a rough time, music can be a form of medicine and a sweet companion.

I hope you find what you’re looking for and wish you peace.

--

--

Skatebard's Ecstatic Theater
Motivate the Mind

Skateboarder. Musician. Writer. Skatebard. I write about the creative process, mythology, and life.