The Curious Case for Holyday-scented thing-a-ma-bobs

Tisha Hammond
Motivate the Mind
Published in
4 min readDec 6, 2021
Photo by Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

Must’ve been about November 2020, when Michael Gould, a LinkedIn connection, commented two words on one of my posts that I had nevva-evva seen nor heard strung together:

Happy Holydays.

The perfection of these words created a response in my brain similar to caffeine-induced bliss. My outward expression of that inner response was something like a mouth-drop, mic-drop, Boom emoji, mind-blown emoji, swirly hearts emoji, green Christmas tree emoji, and an assortment of colorful and lit candles.

In an instance, I stopped greeting people with the classic ‘Happy Holidays’ and shifted fast and furiously to bestowing a heartfelt ‘Happy Holydays’ in writing and to anyone who would listen. You see that? A full year later, I still attribute Michael with introducing this seasons greeting into my vocabulary. Had you heard of it before reading this article?

[The record should reflect that I have a reputation for community building and I can generally appreciate this push toward Medium Membership that we are in the throws of.]

Follow button

Please follow https://tishahammond.medium.com/ for good reads

Photo by Robert Thiemann on Unsplash

Here’s where curiosity gets the best of me. Studying world religions and people of faith absolutely fascinates me. Add that to my love for flavored coffee creamer (and scented candles) and you may come to understand why I’m in a quandary. So, I’m in that group of people who love ‘crisp autumn leaves and pumpkin-spice anything.’ Currently, I’m a third of the way done with my pumpkin-spice coffee creamer. I make mention of this to my mother, who enjoys life on the blander side of the taste palette. Specifically, I say…and while you’re reading, please know that I’m not asking you to choose sides, just hear me out for a sec

Mommy, I need a Holydays-flavored coffee creamer, and I cannot think of what that should taste like.

Mommy: T, pumpkin spice is the flavor of the holidays.

I gasp and clutch my chest because, it.is.not. Pumpkin-spice is the flavor of Fall and I need a Holydays-flavored coffee creamer with the quickness because we’re full on into Advent and Hanukkah. Kids are already tracking Santa online and I’ve noticed that my Kwanzaa table supplies need restocking too.

Photo by Anastasia Mihalkova on Unsplash

Starbucks shoots straight out of the gate with a Holiday blend. The packaging is red and I feel ‘Christmas-y’ when I see it, but for the Maple notes that line the coffee grounds. So, how about you? When I think maple, I think waffles. I think a lot of things, but I don’t think ‘coffee.’ I think Autumn and about all of the bags it will take to clear the maple leaves from my lawn before they litter my neighbors’ yards.

I’m on the hunt for an actual flavor or scent that represents the ‘happiest of the Holydays.’ You know what? I don’t know what I don’t know. (That’s one of my favorite quotes from Dr. Lisa Wicker.)

What other holydays am I missing? What are other scents and flavors are there?

I estimate about 3 days before I need to restock my flavored coffee-creamer. We’re approaching mid-December 2021 and ‘Pumpkin-spice’ is past its prime with me. So,

I’m trusting you with your suggestions for your favorite flavors/scents of the season. Give ’em to me in the comments…and if you speak up “chai-anything,” I automatically deposit 1,000 cool points into your account.

Fun fact: a global Pep Squad has named me ‘The Small Business Cheerleader.”

So, cheers to all of the readers here,

please enjoy my most recent article here on Medium until the next time. It’s about immersive meetings and empowering volunteer teams.

Be blessed. Be encouraged. Please smile. You never know who needs it as much as you do.

For a spirited, Daily Devotional For Entrepreneurs, please visit bit.ly/3E3ZPLy

Here serving up done-for-you press releases and other cool media products for your content library. Follow on IG @accesspassmedia and @careermastered

--

--

Tisha Hammond
Motivate the Mind

Storytelling with a pen and keyboard since 2015. Getting the media to mention you at AscentMediaPro.net