Tips for surviving a blood test when you’re prone to fainting…

Trudi Bishop
Motivate the Mind
Published in
5 min readNov 11, 2021

The struggle is real.

Photo by Obi Onyeador on Unsplash

It is likely all of us have experienced a blood test at some stage in our lives. Perhaps some more than others. It’s not something any of us look forward to but it is something some can get through easier than others.

There is that camp of people who breeze into the doctor’s office, chatting away as they present their arm and WATCH (!) the blood be taken. All while sitting up! Then as if nothing has happened, they breeze on out and carry on with their day. If only this could be how I experience blood tests. I am very envious of these people who can go through the process of a needle being stabbed in their arm and watch blood being removed with an almost laissez faire attitude. (Just writing that made me feel a little sick to be honest.)

I know I am not an anomaly. I have what’s called ‘Vasovagal Syncope’ which can cause me to pass out with any medical procedure or when people talk about medical procedures. This means I find blood tests a real struggle.

There are many of us who do, and they don’t all have ‘syncope’. They might have a fear of needles, blood, or medical procedures. The stress of a blood test can result in them fainting in the clinic.

From someone who faints on too regular a basis I wanted to share some of my tips that have helped me survive the dreaded blood test for those of you are like me and can pass out before, during or after. If I can get through them then you can too.

Firstly, I won’t say ‘don’t panic’ because that doesn’t help. It normally makes you breathe even more quickly and panic more. But do believe it is going to be ok.

Here are my tips:

1. Drink lots of water.

Drinking lots of water in the hours leading up to your blood test helps to plump up your veins. This may seem a little gross but trust me on this one. Having a medical person stabbing around looking for a shy vein in your arm is INCREDIBLY STRESSFUL. A nice plump, vein makes them easier to locate, easier to take the blood and speeds up the whole process. Which in turn reduces your stress levels.

2. Apply some skin numbing cream.

This has been one of my best discoveries. More often associated with children so they don’t feel the needle going in, it is also available for adults who are needle shy. I use “EMLA” which is an over-the-counter brand, but it may vary depending on where you live. Skin numbing cream works as a topical anaesthesia so numbs the area where the needle will go in. Make sure you apply it to both arms (on the inside of your elbows as this is normally where the blood is taken from) half an hour before your appointment as this gives it time to work. I suggest both arms as you never know which way you’ll be facing in the medical room. You only need a little smear, and it lasts for more than an hour.

3. Wear short sleeves and not too many layers.

Short sleeves are an obvious one — its quicker and easier to get to the arms. Not too many layers so you don’t overheat as this can trigger the stress hormone, cortisol, and make you panic once you get to the clinic.

4. Tell the medical professional you are prone to fainting.

This is important — as soon as you mention the word fainting or in my case syncope, the conversation, and the way they work with you almost always changes to be more empathetic. Talking is always good! Don’t worry if you get a less than sympathetic medical person — simply reinforce the issue as calmly as you can.

5. Ask to lie down.

Now this is a useful one. If you do find yourself feeling faint, if you are already lying down, you can’t fall any further and so can’t do yourself any damage. It also means your head is generally level or sometimes slightly below your heart. This lessons the chances of you passing out.

6. Don’t watch!

I cannot emphasise this enough! If you are prone to fainting, watching the procedure that causes you to faint will only increase the likelihood of you passing out! Don’t do it!

7. Ask the medical person not to tell you what is going on.

I find this helps me a lot as my syncope makes me pass out when people talk about medical procedures. However, you may be the opposite. Sometimes knowing exactly what is happening and when can help you feel calm — if this is you, then do the opposite of what I’ve said in tip 7. And ask for them to explain step by step. This one is a personal preference. Do what works best for you.

8. Breathe!

Clearly you will be breathing as it’s an automatic bodily function. The way you breathe is important during the blood test. I find laying one hand (the one not getting the blood taken) on my belly, closing my eyes and concentrating on breathing deeply into my belly so my hand is rising and falling with each slow breath helps me stay calm and stay in the room! If you find blood tests stressful, you might shallow breathe reducing the amount of oxygen in your body and in your brain increasing the likelihood of you passing out. Slow it all down.

9. Pop on some headphones.

Popping on some headphones and listening to your favourite pod cast or relaxing music can help you get through it all smoothly. Avoid music you might want to dance to, or you might inadvertently jiggle around making it even more difficult for the blood to be taken. And we don’t want that!

10. Stay lying down!

Well done! You’ve survived the blood test. Don’t go anywhere just yet! That little fainting demon could still sneak up on you if you sit up too quickly afterward. If the clinic don’t suggest it, ask to stay a few minutes lying down until you are sure you are ok. Then sit up slowly to be sure you’re not going to fall down.

11. Drink water.

Last but not least — drink some more water. And congratulate yourself on surviving your blood test. Now take it easy. You deserve it!

These help me survive my blood tests. I hope they help you too.

Please do share any more tips for getting through these dreaded medical procedures.

--

--

Trudi Bishop
Motivate the Mind

Kiwi by birth but not always by nature. Spent most of my adult life in the UK. I’ve landed back in NZ, a stranger in a familiar land. Trying to figure this out.