Wanna really maximize your online network Zoom Rooms?

Tisha Hammond
Motivate the Mind
Published in
4 min readJan 4, 2022

Get in their ____.

Happy Neighborhood Project — Michigan Chapter Zoom event screenshot from Tisha Hammond

If you get invited to another online networking event, you’re gonna __________. What action word came to mind?

In a perfect world, I’d be back to networking in-person…and yeah, that’s not about to happen regularly for some time for me, so I as an ambassador for global community building, I still enjoy virtual networking.

Once it became obvious that I could moderate and jazz up a virtual meeting with an immersive theme that everyone could sit it on, I grabbed that meeting by the horns and brought the whole crew with me.

Today, I’m most productive in a meeting if we can be shown sitting together in the same space.

image of an Oculus Virtual headset and accessories
Oculus VR headset and accessories

Does that make me ripe for trying the Oculus Virtual Reality headsets? Probably. TECHSPOT reports that Oculus sold nearly 7M units in 2021, which means the rest of us are behind the curve. I haven’t attempted to purchase a VR headset yet and am coming to you, who are in that 7M user group to get your first-hand feedback. Is this the way that virtual meetings will happen in 2022? Am I really interested in defying reality? Are you? Can you see your Supervisor announcing that VR for Work is coming and you better get ready?

Click the QR Code to visit Access Pass Media on Instagram

With my team at Access Pass Media growing around the world, it would be interesting to meet in Thailand or Tunisia without leaving Michigan, huh? Still, this VR world is new to me. While it seems fascinating and big budget ad companies have bankroll to memorize us all with commercials, I wonder if real travel will suffer when we can now access virtual travel destinations more affordably.

Reading Medium everyday is like traveling around the globe too. https://tishahammond.medium.com/membership

I haven’t told you yet, how to maximize your virtual networking once you’ve been divvied up into small meeting groups online…

Photo by Francisco Venâncio on Unsplash

How many times have you seen the gallery of networkers on your scene and been like, I need to talk to THAT person. The Host randomly assigns you to a room and THAT person is no where to be found, right? Room #2 and you don’t end of with ’em there either. Here’s your fix…

Use the private chat feature, most likely when you’re in the main Zoom room, to share your phone number and calendar link and ask for theirs in return. In my blah, blah, blah years of expertise networking and building communities, I find that networking is like an introductory handshake…the conversation — the meat and potatoes of the laying the foundation for a relationship after that event happens when you intentionally offer to keep in touch. And my God, before you leave the Zoom meeting, set a date for that first call, chat, 1–2–1, one on one, whatever, we’re calling these meet-ups now. Taking a screen shot of the person online and saving it as their contact photo brings virtual reality to life.

That’s my two cents on networking. What say you?

P.S. Did you know that you can clap more than once for my stories?

Try it; if you love what you’ve read and just one clap won’t do, please clap it up.

Then, enjoy my most recent story also

https://tishahammond.medium.com/daily-devotional-for-entrepreneurs-4a555a27044a

Be blessed. Be encouraged. Please smile. You never know who needs it now.

For a signed edition of ‘Daily Devotional For Entrepreneurs,’ please visit bit.ly/3E3ZPLy (US shipping only; otherwise, find it at all major book retailers)

Here serving up done-for-you press releases and other cool media products for your content library. Follow on IG @accesspassmedia and @careermastered

--

--

Tisha Hammond
Motivate the Mind

Storytelling with a pen and keyboard since 2015. Getting the media to mention you at AscentMediaPro.net