Why am I changing my career in my late 30s

Sheetal Pawar
Motivate the Mind
Published in
4 min readJul 16, 2022
Photo by the blowup on Unsplash

My career was pretty much decided for me by my extended family, neighbors & teachers also — I was supposed to be either a doctor or an engineer. How typical?

I Became None

I knew that I did not want to be in the medical field. I had seen my mother struggle her whole life to keep the balance between her hospital and children's life. I knew I could not do this. So I tried engineering with zero desire. Mentally I treated it like dry toast which would be nutritious in the long run. So but of course, I bombed at entrance exams.

I wish someone would have explained life after B-Tech more to me instead of saying that I will be able to have a good life. What will I do on a daily basis would have helped me fall in love with the profession or run away from it.

Neither happened!

I kept studying for entrance exams and all I was trying to do was pass any and do B-tech from somewhere, anywhere. Not the right way to study — not even close. But alas, I got admission to a good college and my parents were proud and my neighbors were jealous which probably made many people in the family happier. How sad…

Things Moved On

A couple of years later, I had a computer degree. Though it was not a B-tech but a close cousin. (I rebelled a lot when I was in college & got my way for a few things). I wanted to do something which made a difference or something that I was passionate about. I tried my hands at several things during this time and in this process, reduced my degree time and decided to rather find a job. This is when reality hit: you need a job to get a job. No one will hire a fresher unless you are ready to take many interviews, have a few jacks, ready to work in unknown firms & keep taking money from home. This all seemed like a step toward failure for me.

I Took The First Job I Got.

It was in customer service. I did not hate it but inside I knew that I was wasting my degree. On the other hand, it was a big established brand and I was earning my own money. I stuck with it and slowly I started to like it. In fact, I found customer service really a calling of sorts. I was good at it — really good. I started getting recognition and more responsibilities and just went with the flow.

12 years in customer service and I went full force in it. Worked for big brands and startups, worked as an entry-level caller and as a manager. The last 7 years of my job were the most fulfilling. Working as a leader, managing first small and then big teams, and trying my very best in making a difference in customers’ lives. I loved all aspects of it: researching the customer base, analyzing, making programs, training the team, making projections, and then working towards those.

I loved all aspects of it: researching the customer base, analyzing, making programs, training the team, making projections, and then working towards those.

Then I Quit & Moved Countries

Last year when I was moving to the USA from India, I had this feeling that this is it. I want to do something else. Maybe this was not the most practical decision as my last job was as the head of the customer service and if I was in India, this would be the beginning of the big game. But inside, I had a feeling that I want to do something that makes a bigger difference. I knew that writing was one thing I have always wanted to do more of so I started doing it.

It still felt like something was missing. Starting asking myself a series of questions: What were my big goals in life? What did I really want to do with my time? Was there a skill I wanted to learn but decided not to for some reason?

I was dabbling in Ui/Ux for the last few years and found the concept really interesting. I started loving the engineering part as well. Then now, I really started to read more about this field and slowly it felt like I had found what I really want to do — make products that work and that make people’s lives easier.

So I went full-on a career change and it was scary but now few months into doing some online courses, I am getting more and more confident that I chose well. I am going to be 40 years old soon and right now, I have no source of income. It is scary but I know that I just don’t want to earn a salary, I want to feel something when I work.

Read my list of forty things before I turn forty - LINK

This is my story. But my question to you is: would you change your career in your late 30s?

--

--

Sheetal Pawar
Motivate the Mind

Lifestyle designer revealing the unfiltered journey of growth. Subscribe to https://thelifeblueprint.substack.com/ for strategies to craft a life you’ll love.