Why do they stay?

Zei-a
Motivate the Mind
Published in
3 min readJan 7, 2022

A tribute to friendship.

I heard my phone ring, I knew who it was.

Messages followed calls; it was all in vain.

I was there but I was away.

Lost in a place where there is only me,

I am gone for so long,

I am so far away.

Can some one then tell me please;

Why do they stay ?

Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

I ain’t easy ,I have towering walls,

I don’t trust ,

I am distant , sometimes even cold.

Sometimes I am selfish,

And yet for them, I never get old.

When I am away, lost in distant lands,

The warmth from the other side is never gone.

Photo by Sasha Freemind on Unsplash

Their words are the balm,

The promise of rain, on a barren land.

The melody of music divine,

that kept me from crossing the line.

I ask myself again

I am so far away,

Can some one then tell me please;

Why do they stay ?

Photo by Womanizer Toys on Unsplash

I have tears ?

They are the the hands that wipe them,

I want to rest my head ?

They are the shoulders that bear the pain.

I wanna get drunk ?.. They go get the pints,

Then they dance with me late into the night.

I want to talk?

They always have the time.

I want to have fun?

They know what makes me tick,

I want to disappear , they let me ,

Worried; but they stick.

They never demand, never question,

They never judge ,

They know they can hurt me ,

and yet they always take pains to protect me!

Photo by Antonino Visalli on Unsplash

Good people are hard to find,

Good friends extremely rare,

I wonder what I did to deserve them,

A lot of good deeds?

Maybe.

I honestly do not know.

I don’t say it often but THANK YOU WITH ALL MY HEART ,

When ever I looked around me

There was always a soul to be.

Always a call away,

Night or day.

I am grateful to God they exist;Maybe I am truly blessed .

Maybe that is why ..

They chose to stay.

Dedicated to 3 beautiful people in my life . I love you.Thank you.

Photo by Mayur Gala on Unsplash

--

--

Zei-a
Motivate the Mind

I am a doctor.I write about spirituality & the soul, transformations(physical, mental & spiritual), habits & habit loops, the human body & mind, food & fitness.