YOU MATTER — EPISODE 1

Shabnam
Motivate the Mind
Published in
2 min readOct 19, 2021

19th October, 16:34 PM.

Photo by Amin Hasani on Unsplash

I wrap myself with a warm blanket and switch on my laptop. Lately, I have been experiencing a lot of overwhelming emotions, and today it just got worse. I feel demotivated, discouraged, and devoid. Now, if I were to say this to any of my acquaintances, they would say, “This is what I feel every day.”

I let out a sigh and type.

Today, I do not want to care about my grammar. I do not want to worry about my word choices. Today, I want to stay true to my emotions and speak to my inner self just like how I would to my best friend.

As I hum to my favorite song, I ponder what has been bothering me. Self-doubt? Fear? No.

I crave for a friend. To listen to me. To tell me that it, in the end, everything will be okay. To be proud of me.

My heart sinks to the bottom as I type this. It’s not like I don’t have any friends. I have plenty. But I yearn for a person to whom I could cry my heart out. Without being judged. Without seeming like a burden.

Wait — I know a person who is just like this.

I have been so busy paying heed to toxic ideologies which pulled my whole self-esteem down that I forgot I had a friend who could actually pull me out of this mess.

I blink away my tears as a faint voice within me says, “I want you to know that I am so proud of how far you’ve come. People would not understand the battles that you’ve fought, and that’s because they never fought the battle with you. You did it alone. I am proud of you and that’s what matters.”

At times when you feel the whole world collapsing, at times when you don’t have anyone whom you could lean onto, You are your best friend. Watch your favorite movie. Treat yourself to something special. Be kind to yourself.

Photo by Sasha Freemind on Unsplash

I wanted my first blog to be special to me. And what could be more special than writing about ‘you’. This is the first part of my series “You matter”

Let me know in the comments about the things you do when you don’t feel valued. Any suggestions or feedback on the first episode of the series are welcome :)

--

--