Your Happiness Quotient Defines You

Shoba Rao
Motivate the Mind
Published in
2 min readSep 9, 2022

Happiness management is not new

Photo by Matheus Bertelli on Pexels

Every day is new and every day is a miracle. Do you believe this? Does this make you happy?

What is your Happiness Quotient (HQ) today?

Between 0 to 10, where would you rate your HQ today? Do you have your answer?

What was it yesterday, a week ago, or 30 days earlier? It varied, right? Did you reach below 1? And then, what did you call that day? You’d have said:

I’m in the dumps.

I feel low.

Something just does not feel right.

I cannot handle this anymore.

Life sucks.

I’m so depressed.

Why me?

So on and so forth.

Stop and think.

Why does HQ see fluctuation? The answer is simple.

Because we seek it elsewhere.

I can almost hear you murmuring, “Oh, come on, we don’t live on an island; of course, things around us influence our HQ!

You are so right. And wrong too.

Today my daughter and I had a brief discussion on tolerance. She told me that my tolerance level is high and I just keep quiet when I hear something that may not be right. I thought she was wrong.

There is a difference between ‘tolerance’ and ‘letting go’. Letting go is that which we need to develop very consciously; tolerance can remain bottled up within and then there can be an explosion.

So, try to ‘let go’ rather than ‘tolerate’; you will see a difference in how you feel. Let it not matter, never mind.

Letting go does not disturb your peace; it is a great tool for happiness, use it, it’s free.

Steve Maraboli: “Incredible change happens in your life when you decide to take control of what you do have power over, instead of craving control over what you don’t.”

Now coming to something we talk about often: keeping expectations next to nil. Possible? Yes. With mind training, yes. Nothing gives you peace more than keeping expectations to the lowest.

It takes effort, and then, remember, you owe yourself happiness, few (or none) care about yours, they are busy struggling to find their own.

Promise yourself that you can ‘gift yourself happiness’. It is there for you to enjoy and flirt with.

Enjoying happiness is an art, no one deserves it more than you.

Try the two simple practices mentioned above and check your HQ when you’ve implemented them in your lives.

Ralph Waldo Emerson: “For every minute you are angry you lose sixty seconds of happiness.”

I add to what Ralph has said: every moment you hold on to unnecessary emotions, it is just garbage collecting in your head. Dispose and clear them, and see how light and happy you feel.

--

--