Conquering Puzzles

Kaitlin Armstrong
MotivateU
Published in
2 min readApr 3, 2021

And conquering impatience

Over the past few months, I have developed a liking for puzzles. For Christmas, I was gifted a puzzle by a family friend. The puzzle was a photo of a llama (one of my favorite animals) surrounded by colorful tassels and fabrics.

Even though I had not been interested in puzzles in the past, having been gifted a puzzle of one of my favorite animals made me want to complete it. The puzzle was a 500-piece puzzle, which is the largest puzzle I have ever completed. I put together these puzzles with my mom to have time to bond. Typically, I am the one who gets frustrated easily when I cannot find a missing piece right away while she has much more patience. I aim to learn from her patience, but it has not worked out yet.

Completing the puzzle gives my mom and I a great sense of accomplishment as well as the motivation to move on to the next puzzle. We have completed two Disney themed puzzles; the first puzzle was Winnie and the Pooh and the second was The Little Mermaid.

I enjoyed the final image of the Winnie the Pooh so much that my mom had it framed.

The sense of accomplishment that comes with finishing a puzzle motivates me to complete as many as I can. Also, I am able to practice patience while putting together a puzzle, which is something that I can always improve upon. While my maximum is 500-piece puzzles to date, I hope to complete as many as a I can. And who knows, maybe by next year I’ll complete a 1000-piece. Do you have any suggestions for our next challenge?

--

--