Perspective of Self-Motivation and how it is Applicable to My Experiences

Have you ever decided to do something, but your gut feeling was to change direction? Well, this is in fact your internal self-motivation which alters your thoughts and behavior and being able to master this is truly important.

How we start the morning is how we start our day.

Many of us wake up and follow a daily routine which makes our lives extremely dull. However, theres an upside. The upside is in fact our self-motivation which pushes us to wake up in an optimistic mood for the day. When we wake up, we should set goals for the day and look forward to what lies ahead.

Self-motivation requires time and continuous practice in order to obtain complete mastery of this skill. An idea of being self-motivated has been ultimately defined in various ways; one of them being Abraham Maslow’s model of Self-Motivation.

Abraham Maslow “came up with a model called Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs” (Provitera 30), which highlighted how an individual should apply self-motivation and what it does towards our success in life. “The five needs that formed a pyramid are listed below” (Provitera 30):

  1. Self-Actualization: Education, religion, hobbies, personal growth, and satisfaction
  2. Belongingness: Approval of family, friends, and community, a loving relationship
  3. Esteem: Recognition by family, friends, and community, self-esteem
  4. Safety: Freedom from threats of harm, stability, security
  5. Physiological: Food, oxygen, water, sleep

Maslow’s model gives us an insight as to what dynamic aspects of a person’s life influences their self-motivation. We all do things for a reason and hope to obtain great achievements from them. Maslow is conveying the different parts of our lives that contributes to our need to succeed.

Recently, I have had the opportunity to apply for several job interviews in hopes to land a solid job during my academic year. As I have successfully landed interviews for several positions, many of them have prevalently declined after the unsuccessful interview and thus affected my approach to these situations. Surely, I hadn’t simply used these as a reason to stop trying to get a job, however, it served as a driving reason to work on my interview skills and prepare more for them. After long cognition, these were the ideas that I decided to implement on my next interview:

- Practice the questions that are typically asked

- You need to find out what the reason is for working and what you hope to gain from your experience

- Reassure the employer of your goals and always aim for the betterment of the company not yourself

Luckily, the following week, I was given the opportunity for two more interviews and was able to apply myself to the interviewers. I told them my goals for my future and that I hoped to obtain new experiences that will help make the organization function more efficiently based on the role I applied for. In the end, I was able to get the position as an Office Assistant and hopefully learn what the position entails and leave with a positive experience.

Provitera, Michael J.. Mastering Self-Motivation : Bringing Together the Academic and Popular Literature. New York, US: Business Expert Press, 2012. ProQuest ebrary. Web. 30 September 2017.

--

--

James
Self-Motivation: The Need, the Desire, the Success

There's a "u" in "you". All you need to be at your best and succeed is yourself. I hope to share some of my experiences and beliefs on Self-Motivation.