What the summer solstice means to me

Christopher Daniel Jones
Mountaineers
Published in
3 min readJul 13, 2023

More time to be outside!

Boulder Canyon Tyrolean

The summer solstice holds a special place in my heart. Those few days preceding and following this celestial event mark a significant shift in my perspective and daily routines. As the sun graces us with longer days and abundant light, I find myself drawn to the outdoors, seeking adventure and connection with nature. In this article, I want to share what the summer solstice means to me and how it has become a catalyst for self-discovery, exploration, and meaningful experiences.

  1. Embracing Extended Daylight: With the arrival of the summer solstice, the world around me transforms into a playground of endless possibilities. The longer days offer me the opportunity to escape the confines of work and immerse myself in outdoor adventures. I vividly recall the excitement of preparing my climbing gear the night before, eagerly anticipating the moment I could rush to the crag and lose myself in the vertical world. Whether it was exploring Boulder Canyon or Clear Creek Canyon for sport climbing, the gushing rivers and tyrolean crossings added an extra element of thrill to our adventures.
  2. Chasing Twilight: As the solstice gifts us with ample daylight, it also reminds us of its inevitable retreat. The fading sun forces us to continue our climbs in the gentle glow of our headlamps. This transition to climbing under the stars not only adds a sense of adventure but also encourages us to embrace the unknown and trust our instincts. The world feels different when illuminated by a headlamp, and it is during these twilight hours that we truly immerse ourselves in the beauty and mystery of the natural world.
  3. The Pinnacle of Light: For me, the summer solstice represents the zenith of daylight, a time to seize every opportunity for adventure. It’s a chance to push my physical limits, indulge in late-night dinners, and bask in the warmth of the night. But beyond these tangible experiences, the solstice holds a deeper significance. It serves as an inflection point, a time for spiritual reflection as I contemplate the ebb and flow of energy in my life. With each passing day after the solstice, the hours of daylight gradually wane, reminding me of the cyclical nature of existence and the importance of embracing the present moment.

The summer solstice is more than just a date on the calendar; it’s a profound experience that speaks to the adventurer within me. It symbolizes the abundance of light and the boundless potential for growth and exploration. Through climbing, embracing twilight, and reflecting on the passing of daylight, I find myself connected to something greater than myself — the natural rhythms of the universe. The summer solstice serves as a reminder to live fully, to seek out new experiences, and to nurture the relationships that bring joy and fulfillment to my life. So as the sun sets on this solstice, I carry its spirit with me, ready to embark on new adventures, both on the rocks and in the journey of self-discovery.

Like what you read? Like my article. Throw me a follow on Twitter or Medium. I write about my outdoor experiences, outdoor products, and adventure gear.

Christopher Daniel Jones

Twitter: @read_cdjones

--

--

Christopher Daniel Jones
Mountaineers

Adventure enthusiast. Outdoor gear reviewer. Stoic. Sharing stories of outdoor escapades, gear insights, travel, and personal growth.