Cafe

Goodbye

Naval Nkabinde
Jul 13, 2022
Photo by Rod Long on Unsplash

I don’t want to write you a letter on my dying bed
And tell you I love you, not to hear your response.
To leave you with an ocean of my words,
To dive endlessly for a treasure
Trapped on the tip of my tongue.
Rather let’s have tea while I can still walk and
Carry a proper conversation with you.
I will dish up my secrets to you
As I watch you settle them with tea.
My struggle with honesty shall come to a pause.
I will stumble and trip over myself until I make a point.
At least we will be on the same horseback.
Twisting my tongue into an abnormal act of honesty.
Stiff it will be at first,
Hot tea with sugar will do the trick.

–Ñ

--

--

Naval Nkabinde

My writing is mostly based on my everyday interaction. using poetry to better understand life. Enjoy!