POETRY

The Game Of Life

This Is Your Dream

Chantell
2 min readMay 15, 2023
Photo by Fiona Art on Pexels

What you see is what you get
Fooled you twice and now you're dead!
Sold your soul for fame and glory
Stuck behind bars in purgatory

This, my friend, is the fate you created
Willingly enslaved yourself, now you're jaded
A cycle enacted by ancestors before you
Meant to be broken, but you made a debut!

This is the life, this is your dream
Things aren't always what they seem
Head feeling heavy you want to scream
Now you wish you had used a pseudonym!

Thinking of ways to escape this imprisonment
Wondering if you'll solve your predicament
Heart feeling heavy & guilt weighing you down
Before you know it you're having a meltdown

Lost all sense of what's right and wrong
Playing the game of life like ping-pong
Burdened by stress you want a way out
Cleaning this mess will require a stake-out

What are you carrying that you don't need?
It's time to let go of the excess greed
Silence your mind and open up your heart
There you'll discover your soul isn't scarred

🦋

I wrote this poem in February 2021, and it was actually inspired by a night dream that I had. I love my dreams because sometimes they are these elaborate stories playing out, which fascinates me upon waking up. I don’t usually decipher them, unless I feel a nudge to.

Thank you for stopping by and partaking in my poetic journey.

--

--

Chantell

Writer, Dancer, Nature Lover, Book Worm. Instagram: chantie_enchanted