Versions

by Harilaos Stefanakis

Harry Stefanakis
2 min readJan 8, 2023

--

cityscape by harry stefanakis

In this version, I’m in the city, bound
in concrete responsibilities
I say I am stuck, it is anxiety speaking
like praying for that which I do not want

What will happen next is fixed
in the ritual patterns of the streets
I trod and the cacophony of sounds
I have learned to ignore

Crowded arterials that need stints
for there is no space for longing
until I scalpel open a new view
unto my attention

In this version, I’m in the city, walking
down a different path
I say I am open, it is a prayer to life
and possibilities

What can happen next is uncertain
suspended in a symphony
of concrete echoes, between, the silence
I have learned to appreciate

To listen to me read the poem click:

--

--

Harry Stefanakis

My writing looks to document the human experience and to use words to mend the fractures of life and move the reader towards life-affirming possibilities.