What We Are, In This Universe

Poem for Dr. Strange’s Love

D'Jreya
2 min readMar 24, 2023
Photo by Guillermo Ferla on Unsplash

You smell like lilies,
freshly bloomed,
a gentle welcome into Spring.
In all the other worlds,
this is you
and I’m all of the lucky ones who get to pour into those beings.
Nurture the garden,
every other universe we are Edenic,
except for this one.

Here we barely speak,
and the moments flow slowly,
viscous with desires for absolution.
Time is a trickster
so well-versed in illusions
here.
And the smell of lilies triggers in me
bouts of solitude to rebuild around your absence.
Sometimes I find myself fixed,
most times I cover up the cracks and walk into the world again,
slightly more fragile each time.

You always find me,
pick up the pieces scattered and torn
dust them off and spritz with your love
in every universe, but this one.
Possibly because in this one
I’m not the same.
Chances high that in this one
I am for sure to blame.

We are in the universe
where our love lives up to my name.
And I don’t get to love you,
just show up to your wedding
pretending to not be sullen
something so foreign,
and frankly, strange.

© D’Jreya Boyd, 2023 All Rights Reserved

--

--

D'Jreya

Writer | Reader of Things | Prose, poems, and articles on reading recommendations. Cure to boredom https://allmylinks.com/djreyathewriter