Creativity Under Quarantine

Georgia Humphrey
Movidiam
Published in
2 min readOct 22, 2020

This week in Creativity Under Quarantine, we’re taking a look at some truly resourceful pieces — reworking old stories, and making use of whatever kit you have (even if it’s only a phone!)

Want to get your work featured? DM us!

Brett Chapman

Self shooting director & creative director based in South Yorkshire, UK

Part of a series of One Minute Documentaries I made in lockdown.

My First Studio

When I came back to Sheffield in 2016, desperate to make films, I knew that I wanted my own little studio. So, I spent the last of my money getting a beat up room in a decaying old building called Waverley House. The place needed a little work. The windows leaked. It was directly adjacent to a boxing gym. I think 75% of the city knew the door code.But, together with a few friends, I made a space that proved to be the perfect backdrop for my work.

Brassed Off

When I was 7 years old I was an extra in the Mark Herman film ‘Brassed Off’.

So was my dad and a load of other family members and friends. The film shot in Grimethorpe, where my mum’s from. Formerly a mining village, the place was decimated by the pit closures and Brassed Off tries to tell a bit of that story.

If you’re from the north, it’s important to remember.

Blue Bus Productions / Jordan Horowitz

Director, writer & producer based in LA, US

A short film shot on an iPhone while in quarantine, for the Roger Corman challenge!

written & directed by Jordan Horowitz
starring Connie Jo Sechrist & Jordan Horowitz
produced by Connie Jo Sechrist & Jordan Horowitz
story by Connie Jo Sechrist & Jordan Horowitz
music by Daniel Walter
shot & edited by Jordan Horowitz

Join these creatives and many more on the Movidiam network!

--

--