Interview with Craig Murdoch

Newly-signed Craig Murdoch talks to us about his role as a DOP, and how he got where he is today.

Georgia Humphrey
Movidiam
6 min readFeb 11, 2020

--

Who is Craig Murdoch?

I am a DOP who loves his job, food, music, creativity and being a Dad.

Can you take us through your journey to becoming a DOP? How did you get into the industry?

My father has always been a great film lover and he really shaped my love for movies at a young age. Action was normally the driving force behind which movie we liked to watch, and being a kid in the 80’s and 90’s meant I was spoilt for choice. I also religiously watched The Film Show, and this inspired an idea to be a film critic when I was older.

I studied Film Theory at Manchester Met. University and enjoyed the course. My focus peaked when I began the Scriptwriting module and we had to write and shoot our own film. I loved shooting the story and realising the idea that we had only just talked about. After Man Met, I studied Documentary Film Production at Salford University and ended up being the only person on the course interested in learning camera, which was perfect, as it meant I filmed all of the projects.

It was after Salford that I got my first break, working at Channel Manchester as a camera operator. The beauty of Channel M was the diversity of content I was given to shoot, the collaboration with producers and editors, and the fact that we were all working it out together to some degree. Over the two years I worked there, I developed a strong operating skill base, and it cemented the importance of communication when it comes to creating great content. After Channel M, I moved back to London and became freelance, where I continued to build up my contacts and experience.

Over the years, the variety of jobs and experiences I have worked on has helped build my skill base, and as I grew so did my portfolio and ambition. I have always looked at Director of Photography as a title that I wanted to earn and that is why it took me a while to feel comfortable calling myself one. I am my own harshest critic, but when I started to see my personality and my style in the content I was shooting, it then felt right to begin calling myself a Director of Photography.

You’ve worked with a couple of key favourite directors on multiple projects (including Movidiam Talent director Leif Johnson). What do you look for in a good director/DOP relationship?

I think the first thing that you need is a connection. As mentioned earlier, communication is essential on set, and the last thing you want is for people to be butting heads during the shoot. As a DOP it’s important to be in conversation with the Director before the shoot day. You can discuss ideas, work out a plan for the shoot, a shot list, align your vision and start to build a shared passion for the project. I have been on projects where there has been little to no communication leading up to the job. Generally, when it comes to the shoot day, you spend the first few hours playing catch up and trying to get in the right headspace for the project.

On set with Leif

I like to work repeatedly with the same Directors and build the relationship and team around us. I find that this allows us to work and collaborate quickly and maximise our time on set. With any relationship there is a period of getting to know each other and a lot of the shoots I work on require a high turnaround during a limited amount of time. Working with a Director and crew you know and trust generally helps to garner the best results. It is exciting and beneficial to work with new people who challenge you and help develop your skills and approaches to projects. For me, I like to have a balance of both.

I feel that when everything is right, there is nowhere I would rather be than on set in that creative bubble, creating something that feels important and exciting. It’s a buzz to discuss ideas, troubleshoot and then realise them, and that happens best when it feels like everyone is working as a team. If there is a problem, be honest and work it out, but most importantly have fun and take pride in what you are creating.

What are the advantages of working with your own kit vs hiring in?

I’ve always liked having my own kit, as it has allowed me to easily work on passion projects. I really like to know the ins and outs of a camera, pushing it to the limits and then developing my own look with my kit. Having a good understanding of your camera’s limitations allows you to get the best results. It’s nice to work with a camera rig that you are happy and comfortable with. When I do use other cameras, there are often certain bits of kit that I will always bring with me to the shoot, the most important being a monitor that I can trust. There are financial benefits for owning a camera kit as well but that is not my driving force behind owning a selection of kit.

What motivates you when it comes to making content?

For me I have always wanted to create an experience for the viewer. You are never going to please everyone with the content that you create, so as long as you are proud of it then that is most important.

The main motivation for me is creating content that I am proud of and excited to share with my family and friends.

How do you deal with the unpredictable nature of filmmaking?

It is essential to do as much preparation as you can, so you can deal with the surprises as effectively as possible. Creating a good environment on set is also important, as we troubleshoot best when we communicate as a team. Experience has been my best teacher for the unpredictability and that has provided me with the tools I need when you’re thrown a curveball.

How do your other artistic interests (music, stills photography etc) inform/affect your film work?

We take inspiration from everything that is important in our lives. Photography really helped me understand the importance of framing before I started my career as a DOP.

Music has been a huge inspiration for me. Growing up watching the videos of Spike Jonze and Chris Cunningham really shaped an appreciation for what is possible. We are only limited by our own imagination and with the tools available to all of us today, we can make those ideas a reality.

When I moved to Manchester to study, I was immersed in this amazing creative city, full of artists and musicians. It broadened my interests and experiences and allowed me to appreciate new things that I had not seen before. My time there really shaped what I love today. I met and talked to so many people that have gone on to do great things in the industry and who fortunately are now close friends and collaborators.

Breif Craig on your next project now.

--

--