Interview with Raphael Boamah-Asare

Newly-signed Movidiam Talent DOP Raphael talks to us abut his career, his style, and now he keeps each and every client happy.

Georgia Humphrey
Movidiam
3 min readMar 27, 2020

--

Who is Raphael Boamah-Asare?

I’m an always smiling fan of interactive storytelling games and MMA who captures stories of all types.

What led you to a career as a DOP? Tell us about your journey.

I started with DV cameras, just documenting everyday life (holidays, family moments, friends, etc.) then I began to replicate films by including narratives and using DIY filmmaking equipment (dolly, should mount, etc.) in the videos I was creating. School wasn’t the easiest for me, but I got my interest reignited when I did a college course focusing on film production, which lead to me enrolling at UAL working short films as a DP, shooting on iPhones, DSLRs and cine cameras. While in university, I co-founded my production company Asare Simms. Running my own production company gave me the creative licence to exploring shooting styles, art direction and solidified my process in how I explored narratives visually.

How would you describe your style?

I would describe it as “raw with narrative realism”. I work with narratives and locations that are familiar to most people (school, bedrooms, high streets) and I’m interested in hacking how I can convey the inner monologue of the character — using the camera to show everything the character isn’t saying at that moment.

What would you say is the most important attribute to have when working with clients?

Being understanding. When collaborating with clients, you have to remember to be adaptable to the last-minute changes that can happen, because the primary goal at hand is to create content that serves as a tool to achieve a set goal. Understanding what their purpose is and how you can support that, even beyond your role, is vital.

How about with fellow crew members?

Communication is critical - we all need to be making the same film! Having time to ensure that documents are set out, and carving out time to boost morale with the team builds a sense of community. That makes everyone want to support the vision and hang out for extended periods.

What has been your proudest accomplishment in your career to date?

Serving as the Director of Photography on my first feature film “Doll Factory” is the proudest moment in my career to date. It’s slated for release this summer and was executive produced by me also

What gets you really excited for a project?

A blank canvas to create a visual language and image systems. Also paired with the chance for me to collaborate with a crew to produce an audio-visual experience that entertains, inspires and educates.

Where do you see yourself and your career in five years time?

I see myself lensing narrative television and feature-length films. However, I want to continue working on digital projects by leading creative vision on campaigns for brands on a global scale in the world of fashion, music, sports and technology.

Get Raphael on board for your next project.

--

--