Pick Your Winner! #WacomDare2Create

Entries are closed, and 10 talented creatives are in with the chance to win.

Movidiam
Movidiam
5 min readSep 3, 2021

--

Our expert judge Emmanuelle Walker has narrowed down all of our entries to a 10 person shortlist — and now it’s your turn! Take a look at all the entries below and vote for your favourite, that best embodies the Dare 2 Create theme. The entry with the most votes by 12pm BST on September 10th will receive a Wacom Cintiq 16!

Take a look at all 10 here, and scroll to the bottom of this article for the voting form, or head straight there now.

Rachel Saunders

‘My epic patterned panoramic pays homage to Krka National Park, Croatia. Its sheer scale and level of detail pushed my skills to the limit, but also allowed me great freedom as I pursued to achieve an image that was truly immersive and playfully explored the flora and fauna of the park.’

Beth Elford

‘This piece took around 10 hours and was the most challenging piece I have created during the first year of my degree. As I did not have access to my normal art materials during lockdown I turned to digital art as a way to develop my skills and after countless hours learning about digital art through trial and error, I am so proud that I have been able to produce a piece like this.’

Egle Green

‘I grew up in ballet theatre backstage, so ideas in my head are always theatrical and colourful. With photoshop help, I can execute my visions closer to my imagination. This image was complex to make colourwise. Also, it is composed of three separate photos, which were made with a 12mm lens. A wide-angle lens makes distortion of straight lines (walls, ceilings, floors, furniture lines). A housewife was shot with a flash and placed in another image just with ambient light. It was the first time I created a fake shadow of her and the artificial light of the lantern on the right side. I straightened all lines of space and furniture. In the kitchen were many things on the table. It was challenging to clean out all of it and make it empty. To get this result of the picture, “Who is the victim now?” it took me many images to make, light testing, editing, and you would be surprised to see the original version.’

Andrea Caponi

‘I really enjoy creating backgrounds in cinema 4d and composite my kids pictures into it! That’s give me unlimited possibility and freedom to realise everything come into my mind!’

Inês Pinheiro

‘This piece’s main challenge was in its combination of traditional and digital media. The line work was done on paper and I then needed to find digital brushes and techniques that would match it.’

Klaudia Karpinska

‘Trying to show AI in pictures was quite challenging as I decided to go with blue skin at the end as a result’

Paloma Viguini

‘The work challenged me to help me get out of my comfort zone’

Veronika Vajdova

‘With this painting, I wanted to seize that feeling all artists experience when inspiration hits — the small moment just before they feel the urgency to paint or draw, when in their mind, the reality moves aside for a few seconds and they are completely part of another, dream-like world unique to them. The challenge was to try and capture the artist and their art, to capture the essence of what they dared to dream of, before they dared to create.’

Mikey Dowdle

‘People is a project I started a little before covid hit, and and completed during lockdown. It started from sketches I’d make on my daily commute of the different people riding the train with me. I’d accentuate and manipulate, stylising their forms to create something wholly new. The project challenged me in a multitude of different ways; each abstract character had to fit in with the style of the sequence and yet flow with its own motion and personality. I also took on the challenge of creating the music & audio myself, which is something I’d never tried before now.’

Danny Lines

‘I initially started with street & nature photography, but after a while found that I still felt like something was missing from my work. I wanted to find a way to really create my own shot from the ground up with complete control over it. I’ve always found working with paints to be something that I’ve always enjoyed, in particular the patterns and textures from acrylic pours. Naturally, I put these two together and started to work with the idea of photographing some form of fluid art with use of acrylic paints.

I wanted to create content which pushed that creative boundary to have an other-worldly feel, work which made people sit back and wonder what exactly it is they were looking at, and how exactly it was made.

Taking a step out of both my comfort zone and the bounds of traditional photography has been a hugely rewarding & fulfilling process. It has been a step which has taught me so much & provided me with some of my best work I’ve created to date. Taking that step has helped me find a niche area of photography I love working in, and I can’t wait to keep improving and honing my skill set as I continue this work.’

Time to vote!

--

--

Movidiam
Movidiam

Movidiam is a professional global network, marketplace and project management platform for the creative industries.