My Review of ‘Cry Terror!’ (1958)

Debbi Mack
Movie Lover’s Club
5 min readNov 16, 2023

--

Hi, today I’m reviewing Cry Terror! from 1958. This is a crime thriller, which was presented on TCM Noir Alley. So I guess it also qualifies as a film noir.

It is definitely very suspenseful. It is about a man, this guy who sets up James Mason. James Mason plays, I guess, he’s an electronics expert. He’s the kind of person who can put a bomb together and does so for Rod Steiger, who is a “criminal mastermind” according to Wikipedia. Well, for a criminal mastermind, I got to tell you, this was a scheme with a lot of moving parts and moving people. People were moving all over the place, but it is very suspenseful. I will say that. It was kind of cool to see James Mason playing a nice guy. I kept calling him Mr. Vandamm in my head, of course. And then there was Rod Steiger, who makes a great bad guy.

There’s Neville Brand who makes a wonderful guy with a screw loose and a bad attitude. And Angie Dickinson, who puts in a really good, great performance as in the supporting role of, I guess, gangster moll or whatever. Anyway, she’s part of the scheme and I have to say particularly I loved Inger Stevens…

--

--

Debbi Mack
Movie Lover’s Club

New York Times bestselling author of eight novels, including the Sam McRae Mystery series. Screenwriter, podcaster, and blogger. My website: www.debbimack.com.