My Review of ‘The Quiet Man’ (1952)

Debbi Mack
Movie Lover’s Club
5 min readNov 12, 2021

This is one of those movies I’ve always heard I should see, but never got around to watching until recently. And I might never have seen it, except that it was chosen for the movie group I’m in.

Yep, I’m in a movie group. It meets online, so really anyone from anywhere around the world can attend. Honest! Just register here. For our next online event meeting.

But wait, I’m doing this out of order. First, let me do the review.

Image via ievenn.com

Okay, so … Sean “Trooper Thorn” Thornton (played by John Wayne) comes from America to Ireland, because his father or grandfather (one or the other) was from there, Sean lived there was he was a wee lad (I’m pretty sure, maybe) and still owns property there. Twas in grandfather’s property, but it’s Sean’s property now. This treasured real estate is located in a fictional Irish village called Inisfree (that name is actually of a real place in Ireland, but not the small town depicted on-screen). However, in an unusual concession to the director, John Ford, they actually filmed it on location in Ireland, so it’s … very Irish. As Scotty on Star Trek would say, “It’s green.” (I’m not really sure Scotty would say that, but you know … it is, nonetheless, very green.)

This green enough for ye? :)

That photo came from this site! Feel free to click there and wax nostalgic. What have you.

Ford pretty much insisted on filming this movie in Ireland. I’m assuming it was to lend the work greater authenticity. Well, he certainly nailed that aspect of the film.

So, as I was saying, right off the bat, Sean is dealing with the good folk of Ireland, who have this tendency to offer up several ways of getting to anywhere. Which my sister tells me is exactly what the Irish will do. You should hear the story she told me about getting directions there. It’s hilarious. Or you could watch this movie, because really … it’s pretty much the same. Except she was actually traveling through Ireland, whereas this is a movie with a bit more of a plot than my sister offered.

You see, Sean has a dark past, which you don’t find out about until later in the movie. However, it has a definite affect on his actions. For one thing, he refuses to fight. Again, I’m getting ahead of myself.

Sean has to eventually fight to win “the girl,” the fiery red-head Mary Kate Danaher (played by the incomparable Maureen O’Hara), who he falls in love with in record “Hollywood time,” despite the fact that the story was actually filmed in Ireland with many local actors and crew involved. But it is still a John Ford picture, right? Still basically a Hollywood movie.

Image via OscarChamps.com

In any case, the fight is between Sean and Mary Kate’s brother, Squire “Red” Will Danaher. Everyone has names like that in this film. Including the guy who drives Sean to his house from the train station. His name is Michaeleen Óge Flynn, and along with carting folks about in a horse-drawn wagon, he serves as a “matchmaker.” Or, as it turns out, a “matchmaker-cum-bookmaker”. Because everyone in the whole freaking town is laying bets on whether Sean will fight for Mary Kate’s dowry.

Image via New York Irish Arts

Okay, let me start over. Sean’s in love with the very temperamental Mary Kate. They have what must be single most-bizarre “meet cute“ ever when he finds her hiding in his house, grabs her before she can escape, and plants a kiss right on her mouth. Not even a “hello” or “how’s it going” or “nice to meet you.” Really! And she responds by promptly smacking him across the cheek. Or, at least, she tries, but manages to smack his hand, really. Isn’t that adorable?

And if you think that’s awesome, you should see the part where Sean drags (literally drags her, at times) home from the train station when she tries to go to Dublin. He drags or yanks her along for five miles, right through a lot of sheep dung. According to legend, John Ford and John Wayne conspired to drag Maureen (who did her own stunts!) through as much sheep dung as humanly possibly. That’s yet another story connected with this movie, but let’s stick with the main one, assuming we’re still there.

Check the way she walks right over that big box without missing a step in the above video! Whoa!

Basically, Mary Kate’s mad as hell, because she wants Sean to fight for her dowry. She figures she’s worth something more than just someone to cook and clean for a guy. And 350 pounds (that’s the dowry) is not nothing, is it?

I’ll let you guess where this all leads. Because if I gave you directions, I’d likely mislead you, I told you it would spoil the whole film.

By the way, did you know that people in Ireland really do break into song, in pubs and other gathering places? My sister confirmed that for me, too.

I think this movie is considered a comedy. Very funny, if you can manage to squirm your way through the domestic abuse parts.

I’m so glad I saw this movie. It explains so much about my writing style.

Oh, did I mention I have some Irish ancestry? Not that you’d notice, right? :)

I was going to knock off a whole star, but changed my mind mainly due to the authenticity of the material. Warts and all!

PS: I’ll mention here that the movie group meets again on November 19? We’ll be discussing Sunset Boulevard for Noirvember!

Now, that’s a movie!

Just register here to participate!

I’ll be there! With bells on!

Okay, not really. I’ll be there. Bells or not. :)

--

--

Debbi Mack
Movie Lover’s Club

New York Times bestselling author of eight novels, including the Sam McRae Mystery series. Screenwriter, podcaster, and blogger. My website: www.debbimack.com.