Small Canvas, Big Impact

A Review on the Academy Nominees for Best Short Film. Live Action.

Erin Picone
Book, Movie, & Adaptation Reviews

--

I remember my first short film.

A simpler time, being able to prance around my small town without a permit, tripod, or parental units.

We, at the time, thought we were creating the best horror film known to man. It was for class and we KNEW we would get an A+ for our work…no, art.

…OK, there may have been the added arrogant thought that our high school teacher would request an extended applause from the class, for our excellent use of fake blood, scary sound effects, brilliant acting, and best horror twist.

I can’t say which exact movie got me the most excited to create movies. I like to think it was the collective genres of comedy, drama, horror, romance, etc. that fueled my passion. All I can really remember is how much I loved to tell stories, even from an early age. I was perfectly comfortable walking up to strangers and inviting them to join my created story.

Entertaining. I think that has always been in my blood.

Like most film graduates I moved to L.A. to become the next big director. (Actually, I really came out here to become the “first female to win an Academy Award for Best Director,” but was shot down by Kathryn Bigelow…jerk.)

And like most recent grads, I had to put my big dreams on the back burner to pay the bills. I am thankful (and honestly, lucky) that my foot has always been in the entertainment industry since my move. Even though that door has been TV, I have learned a lot, and I have met the most amazing people. However, my muse became neglected as work became more demanding. I longed for an outlet, but forgot what it felt like to hold a script I wrote or the discipline it took to stay up all night to render.

By the way, am I the only one who has render dance parties?

…anyway

I am sure you can imagine the feeling I had when I was reminded of the core reasons I loved filmmaking.

This past weekend I had the amazing opportunity to see the screeners for each Academy Nominee for Best Short Film, Live Action. I was so excited I brought along my journal for future blogging purposes.

(However, I didn’t realize it would be too dark to write, so my notes are actually in large font with a lot spacing in between each word…it looks like a kindergartner wrote them…)

*In the end, my notes evolved into a single word representing the emotion each film evoked. It was intended to help me later explore my opinion for the blog, but I liked the structure so much that I decided to keep it for my reviews.

The evening was structured to have pre-recorded interviews of famous directors play before each film. They spoke of their first short and why shorts in general are essential to the cinema world.

This is like hearing Superman tell you the first super power he ever explored. It makes one feel like they can go into their backyard and attempt the same feat.

So many encouraging words were spoken to me that night, but the one that stood out the most was from Academy Nominee for Best Director, “12 years of Slave,” Steve McQueen.

“Every filmmaker starts with Shorts…One has to learn how to take a small canvas and make a big impact. Anyone can make a big impact with an infinite amount of space and time, but not everyone can do that in 30minutes or less.”

-Steve McQueen

THE REVIEWS

1.) Helium

By: Anders Walter and Kim Magnusson

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UiHTwcEY230

WORD: HOPE

A film about a dying boy who is scared by the thought of his impending fate, and cannot find comfort in the words the doctors and family give about afterlife. One unexpected friend helps him discover what hope is all about.

In a world that is so easy to become cynical about life and even death, I enjoyed the conversation of how hope softens the unknown. The CG is stunning, and I actually forgot it was the work of a small budget film. The writer wanted to pull the heart strings of the viewer, and while it almost did at the end, for the most part I kept a level head on the film.

2.) The Voorman Problem

By: Mark Gill and Baldwin Li

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_aNyXNYeiwA

WORD: DISTURBING

A story about a psychiatrist who goes to evaluate a man in jail who believes to be the God.

Pardon my French, but fucking brilliant storytelling. I only find my cussing necessary because, when the credits began to role, that is what I said out loud. It contained a twist that made me squirm in my seat (especially after watching the first film of the night). It was funny, dark, and had a refreshing intelligence. It didn’t have a message, the movie just simply entertained; a style that’s rare for the Academy to nominate.

3.) Avant Que De Tout Perdre (Just Before Losing Everything)

By: Xavier Legrand and Alexandre Gavras

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vjZC2nFS5OA

WORD: COURAGE

About a mother’s determination to escape the man she fears, her husband.

If I could cheat and allot myself one more word to describe this movie, I would say “Suspense.” My hands were literally gripping the seat. A masterful story that kept building the climax until the last minute. Artistically, the filmmakers chose not to use any music throughout the film. A decision often seen by directors like the Coen brothers. This style does not ease the suspension, but allows imagination to take off without the subtle help of music to rein it in. The actors did a magnificent job of bringing me into their world to feel their anxiety. It’s a violent story, but you never actual see the violence…you feel it. This one I deemed as my favorite and I hope wins the Academy Award.

4.) Aquel No Era Yo (That Wasn’t Me)

By: Esteban Crespo

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TR9Fdn-a9-Q

WORD: HEARTBREAKING

A child soldier must come to terms with the horrendous crimes he was forced to commit out of fear. The guilt and ramification of the violence remains long after reaching safety.

Unlike the pervious film, this story makes you see the violence. It’s an uncomfortable visual that forces the viewer to live each act. Out of the five films, this one had me crying throughout. The acting was outstanding and the gravity of the topic stayed with me far after the film.

5.) Pitääkö Mun Kaikki Hoitaa? (Do I Have to Take Care of Everything?)

By: Selma Vilhunen and Kirsikka Saari

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D0XJRHxK4Y8

WORD: ENDEARING

A stressed mom trying to get her family to a wedding ceremony on time.

A simple concept, but a hilarious and outrageous story that came at the perfect time. After sobbing my eyes out at the last movie, a good laugh was a great way to wrap up the night. It was chaotic and skirted the realm of “too far fetched,” but I was rooting for the family the whole way. I was able to allow my suspension of disbelief for the chaos, because I found the family so real and endearing.

After a night of the “feels” and laughter, a flame in me was reignited. The desire to make my own voice in storytelling came wheeling back. Maybe it was the encouraging words of the directors or the way each film had me reminisce on past films that I created. Regardless, I was reminded why it’s important to keep my ambitious nature. It’s simply who I am to have an active imagination, and filmmaking is the greatest outlet.

Shorts, after all, are explorations without the complications.

My photo cover for this blog is in dedication and remembrance of Sarah Jones.

For More On “Slates For Sarah” Go To: https://www.facebook.com/slatesforsarah

--

--

Erin Picone
Book, Movie, & Adaptation Reviews

Lover of sports, books, and coffee. Owner of a dog, vinyls, and colored pencils.