Terra Walker
Movie Time Guru
Published in
7 min readFeb 3, 2016

--

Coming Home for 4 Days: Crested Butte Film Festival*

originally published October 13, 2105*

Better yet: For four days in September, the world comes home to Crested Butte.

At least, that’s what I’d heard for two years. I’ve known about Crested Butte Film Festival since 2012, when my friend Chuck mentioned it during a poker game. His excitement about his participation on the Street Media Team was clear. Try as I had to get there, based solely on Chuck’s passionate involvement, it just didn’t work out that I could attend. Until this year, that is. As luck would have it, Chuck had double booked himself, and they needed someone. In a very fortunate turn of events, that someone would be me.

Jessica McMaster hangs out with Jennifer Brody & Brand New Family Member, ‘V’.

Crested Butte Film Festival was started in 2010 by Jennifer and Michael Brody, and during the last weekend in September each year, the world really does come home. Situated just off Highway 135, in the heart of Colorado’s Rocky Mountains, they couldn’t have picked a more beautiful place or time. Autumn is setting in, the air is cooling, and the colors are changing from summer green to stunning gold, red, and orange. The town is rife with energy for all the films we’ll get to see first, friends we’ll make, and conversations we’ll get to have before most people know these films exist.

Chuck and I have a mutual friend in Jack Hanley, Crested Butte Film Festival’s Host, Moderator, and Co-Programmer. By which I mean, Chuck introduced me to Jack some years ago, intending us to work together. This September, that happened. Chuck couldn’t make it to CBFF, and suggested I replace him. Jack contacted me, last-minute mind you, and pitched. I accepted, without hesitation, even though the job didn’t include a lifetime supply of popcorn (to my utter disappointment).

I had less than two weeks to prepare, make arrangements for my clients, and screen as many films as possible. I was able to do all that, including watching ten films. I even had time to pick a few movies from the schedule to see while I was there. I didn’t meet my team until about 6:30am on the day we traveled to Crested Butte. Pressure is my jam.

Attending any festival or convention as an insider is very different from going as an attendee. As part of the Street Media Team, it was my job to meet as many people as possible, to help with on street and in line interviews, and help keep the team on our timeline so we could be as interactive online as we were in real life. I got to attend filmmaker parties, private interviews, and exclusive dinners. It’s work, and though I was in sleepy, charming Crested Butte, this was still a job. Don’t worry, I won’t bore you with the day-to-day workings of the festival.

Photo Credit: William Mason III

Let’s talk about my favorite events. For starters, the festival was kicked off on Thursday afternoon by a bike parade. It was such a fun way to start the weekend — nearly everyone riding bikes displaying Crested Butte Film Festival signs slowly winding through town, simultaneously greeting visitors and advertising the weekend’s festivities. The parade ended at Montanya Distillers, where the festivities would continue well into the evening. Heaps n Heaps joined us on a small detour for the weekend, and played the night away.

On Friday, we spent the day talking to attendees, interviewing filmmakers, taking pictures, and sneaking in a film here and there. That night, there was an exclusive filmmaker party at The Red Room, and we could put down our microphones and cameras. We didn’t, but we could have. That’s the thing about loving what you do — you just keep doing it. The filmmakers were so gracious and talked with us well into the night, on and off camera.

Credit: Siena Pinney. Jennifer Brody accepts the Spirit of the Festival Award.

Saturday is really the big day at Crested Butte Film Festival. Even now, my memory of it is a little blurred. I’m recreating the day based on the few notes I took. We started the day with a filmmaker panel at Bacchanale, followed by interviewing as many attendees and filmmakers as possible. I did get to see The Tribe, the one movie I was going to see no matter what. If you get a chance, see this film. It is literally the most incredible movie I have watched in at least a year, and you have to watch, because the only dialogue is a sign language dialect quite possibly only understood in Ukraine.

Saturday night was also the award ceremony and Red Carpet party at Montanya Distillers. We dressed to the nines, which is really casual chic in Crested Butte. It was entertaining, setting up, still interviewing filmmakers, watching everyone’s anticipation and commotion over the winners. The list of winners is on the CBFF Instagram account.

Sunday, the last day of the festival, was still a full day of interviewing and movies. Full day. One more filmmaker panel first thing in the morning (11am ha!), and the final movie time was 7:30pm. Then we had the closing night party at Dogwood Cocktail Cabin. As Crested Butte slowly emptied, my team slowly lost all our energy. After we said our good-byes to some of our team members, filmmakers, and new friends, we collapsed under the Crested Butte Film Festival sign in front of the Center for the Arts. We chose to stay until Monday, so we had an easy evening, no cameras, notebooks or microphones, making real connections with the residents of Crested Butte, attendees, and the filmmakers who stayed behind.

Most people who work absurd hours at a festival or convention will tell you that Sunday is what they live for.

With all that excitement, my favorite part about the weekend wasn’t the bike parade, exclusive parties, or Red Carpet ceremony. It was my team. They exhibited so much grace, patience, and resilience. In all my years running street teams, I’ve never seen a team work together like we did. We moved in synch the entire weekend, even when we hadn’t eaten in ten hours or had our morning coffee. To my team, thank you.

These folks made my weekend:

Jack Hanley — Festival Host, Moderator, and Co-Programmer. I honestly don’t know how he does it. He is intuitive beyond compare, and his energy levels frequently surpass my own. Our fearless leader and film critic is all over the web. Connect with him on About.me, Twitter, and Gaze. — for starters.

Arthur E. Michalak — Festival Photographer. Art is a photography ninja. In looking over his contributions, I realized that I didn’t see him present for the pictures he took. Much like this, Art has a very small photography-related public internet footprint. He’s hard to find if you’re not already connected. Google him anyway.

Siena Pinney — Street Media Team Photographer. Joining us from Los Angeles this year, Siena’s voice really came through in her pictures. Her style and substance is unmatched, and as is so rare, I can feel her photos. Find Siena’s work here: Siena Pinney Photography

William Mason II — Street Media Team Photographer and Videographer. Will’s eye for detail and getting the shot are truly amazing. He put in countless hours filming for Jessica and I, as well as being available in several places at once to capture some important moments. You can see Will’s passion in his product. Speaking of, Will’s product can be seen here: Will Powered Media

Jessica McMaster — Festival Co-Host, and my partner. A consummate actress and model, Jessica’s happiness and pep were present in everything she did. Her ability to approach people for interviews was entertaining to observe, and she has an innate talent for making people feel instantly at ease and willing to talk. She spent endless hours in front of and off camera, making sure we didn’t miss an opportunity to meet with filmmakers and attendees. At one point, we finished ten street interviews in less than fifteen minutes, finishing seconds before the house lights went down in the theatre. You can see more of Jessica here: Jessica McMaster

I am confident that I would not have had as much fun working CBFF with any other combination of people. We all missed Chuck’s presence, and I’m eternally grateful to him for over-booking himself. Chuck, I owe you a drink and dinner.

To my team, from the bottom of my heart, infinite thanks. You are all such amazing and dynamic people. I’m grateful you let me be a part.

To Jennifer and Michael Brody: thank you. Your vision five years ago made my September, 2015 spectacular. Your kindness and tireless support of your entire team, not just the one I was part of, is beyond amazing.

And the rest of you, I expect to see your faces up there next year.

Find out more about Crested Butte Film Festival here, and join us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram to see the pictures, interviews, and keep up with events and announcements for 2016.

--

--

Terra Walker
Movie Time Guru

Food Blogger. Story Teller. World Traveler. Star Gazer. Polymath. Broncos Fan. Social Butterfly. ACHD + cPTSD Survivor. Kicking breast cancer in the dingding.