EXPLAINING MY IRRATIONAL HYPE FOR THE POWER RANGERS MOVIE

Ross Stracke
Movie Time Guru
Published in
6 min readFeb 17, 2017

A few summers ago, in a wave of unexplainable 90s nostalgia, I turned on the original Power Rangers. It was on Netflix and I was bored and I made a mistake, okay — happy? In the short trip down memory lane I discovered something: The Mighty Morphin Power Rangers does not hold up. It does not hold up at all.

The jokes are corny, the lines are corny, the action is corny. I don’t know why I expected it to be something I could stomach, maybe I thought my artistic taste as a child was better than it was.

I couldn’t have been more wrong.

But, despite learning Tommy Oliver was not the 90s teen icon I remember, I’ve come to realize I’m hyped as fuck for the upcoming Power Rangers movie. While my hype is both irrational and unexplainable, give me a moment to convince you a cheesy 90s kids show can be turned into Blockbuster beauty.

BRYAN FUCKING CRANSTON

If you are not already aware, Bryan Cranston will play the Rangers leader, Zordon. Now, I may be a subpar Breaking Bad fan at best, but if you even suggest to me Bryan Cranston is anything less than a top tier actor I will discredit you and your opinion for the rest of your life. And more importantly, I take his decision to join this project as a symbol of its artistic integrity.

Also, Cranston made the following quote in an interview with The Huffington Post about why he agreed to do the film:

This is as different a reimagining as the ‘Batman’ television series as it became the ‘Batman’ movie series. You can’t compare those two, and nor can you compare this movie version of the ‘Power Rangers’ to that television series. It’s unrecognizable for the most part. There are tenets of the folklore that you hold onto for sure, but the inspiration is different, and the sensibility of it, and the approach to the film making is completely different.

So if Bryan Cranston, the man who made us all believe a teacher could become the Meth kingpin of Albuquerque, tells me Power Rangers will be dark and dope — I believe him.

GIANT ROBOTS VS GIANT MONSTERS

Probably the saddest part of re-watching the Power Rangers TV show is realizing the Zords (giant robots) fights are all terribly underwhelming. In their defense, it wasn’t their fault. It was the 90s, their production budget was miniscule, and making 50+ robot fights look badass using Godzilla-esque (Old Japanese Godzilla not new hip Godzilla) technology is just not feasible.

Thankfully, Pacific Rim and all its Charlie Hunnam, ass-kicking glory came along to show them how giant robot fights should be done. Though it’s not a masterpiece, Pacific Rim delivers beautifully with some sweet giant robots v monsters action and handed Power Rangers a blueprint on how to take full advantage of the fight scene opportunities in front of them. I have faith in you Haim Saban, even if I have no reason to.

SIDE NOTE: I realize Transformers initiated the movement of giant robot fights in theaters, but that franchise is not one I particularly want to pay homage to as a reason for my ridiculous Power Rangers excitement.

THE COMIC BOOKS AND THAT FAN FILM

Little known fun fact: Mighty Morphin Power Rangers comics exist. They are separate of the tv show and the upcoming movie, but they’re real and they’re pretty good. They hold up, they provide the 90s nostalgia we’re looking for, and they deal with everyone’s favorite Power Rangers subject — The Green Ranger. What sets the comic books apart from the show is very simple yet so very crucial. They. Aren’t. Corny.

Well, they aren’t too corny. Which brings me to the fan film Joseph Kahn dropped in 2015 that millions of older fans flipped for because it was the dark, gritty Power Rangers we’d all craved. The only problem was it was 12 minutes and didn’t satisfy enough of our craving. Also, it showed the heroes as thirty somethings which kinda defeats the purpose of the Power Rangers. I know we’ll probably never get The Dark Knight version of Power Rangers, but now we can at least expect one that finds the middle ground between the comics and the fan film — something the grownups will love and the kids will enjoy but not fully understand.

THE FIRST TRAILER

NOT THE SECOND TRAILER. I REPEAT NOT THE SECOND. And, as of today, apparently not the third either. The first trailer was dope and led us all to believe this movie has the potential to not be a corny shit show. It actually kind of painted them as The Breakfast Club with superpowers, which is a movie I am here for. Although, to believe this is possible we must assume the second trailer is simply a highlight reel of all the campy, childish moments and not at all an accurate representation of what the film will be. Again, the goal is to be optimistic.

THE SPEC SCRIPT IS OUT THERE

For those of you that don’t know what a spec script is let me explain right quick. It’s a script a writer writes on spec, meaning they aren’t paid to write it, and then takes it out to the market place to potentially sell. It’s a risk because you might not sell it (this is the most likely scenario) and then you wasted a good amount of time writing it. Unless you’re Max Landis. Currently, Landis is one of the more successful screenwriters in the spec marketplace — last year he sold a spec to Netflix for $3 million and one to MGM for an undisclosed amount (I will guess it was seven figures).

I tell you this to tell you that in 2014, Landis wrote a spec script for Mighty Morphin Power Rangers and sold it. A few days ago the script was posted on reddit. And even though his script is not the one they went with, I think it’s hard to deny his version influenced the film hitting theaters in March. Landis describes his script as “Independence Day meets Breakfast Club” and when you look at the trailers… I’d argue that’s probably what Lionsgate tried to capture. Regardless, Breakfast Club seems to have been a bigger impact on this movie than the 90s TV show.

SIDE NOTE: I don’t feel comfortable providing a link to Landis script, but it’s a quick google search away. Worth a read.

WE NEED A SEQUEL

I am not advocating for the franchise Power Rangers will undoubtedly turn into if it even has mild success. However, I am fully campaigning for a sequel. Because as any Power Rangers fan knows, the best story line in the show’s 20+ year run is the Green Ranger going from working for Rita (Elizabeth Banks in the upcoming movie) to becoming the leader of the Power Rangers. Since Film Execs all have brains I’d be shocked if there was a sequel that didn’t revolve around Tommy Oliver and his ascension to good. And the only way we get said sequel is if you go see the movie and bring in enough Box Office for us to get it. Do not rob me of that cinematic experience America.

WHAT DO YOU HAVE TO LOSE

This isn’t Warner Brothers botching DC Comics or Michael Bay ruining Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles for anyone over 14. This is a campy, corny Japanese rip off that should never have become the world-wide phenomenon it did. The little engine that could of 90s kids shows. There is not a chance of ruining the source material or the integrity of the original, just an opportunity to have some fun. I acknowledge my hopes are irrationally high for this movie. I’m picturing The Dark Knight meets John Hughes’ teen brilliance for god sake. And while that’s unattainable, let’s all pick our asses up and relive our childhoods on March 24th by watching what is most likely to be Power Rangers meets One Tree Hill — a movie I’m still definitely here for.

--

--