My thoughts on the ‘Rogue One’ trailer.

Deen Hussein
Movie Time Guru
Published in
2 min readApr 8, 2016

‘Rogue One: A Star Wars Story’. The first official teaser trailer for this film came out recently and there has been many mixed opinions about it. I’m here to clear up my thoughts on the newest addition to the ‘Star Wars’ family.

‘Rogue One’ was a surprising announcement for all. All of us ‘Star Wars’ fans were lucky enough to have the release of the 7th film let alone the announcement of the newest addition, set to release in December of 2016.

I can’t say I’m not excited for this film. The wait until December of 2017 for ‘Star Wars 8' to be released is much too long of a wait and I pray this film keeps me going until then, but I’m also praying it does more than just “keep me going”.

I’m expecting big things from ‘Rogue One’. Huge things. ‘The Force Awakens’ was an incredible film in my eyes and I’m hoping ‘Rogue One’ will follow up however, it looks….well….different.

One of the biggest complaints about the new trailer for ‘Rogue One’ is that is just doesn’t look or feel like a ‘Star Wars’ film. So, what is a “Star Wars” film? Lightsabers, Jedi, Stormtroopers, A death star of some form, a hero to rise from nothing and engage in an epic battle to the death against a person of opposite morals. That’s ‘Star Wars’. So in the newest trailer I’ve only seen 2 of those things; Stormtroopers and a supposed “hero”. That’s it. So I understand the outrage (although, if you listen closely at 1:18 when he says “what will you become” you can hear Vader breathing).

On the other hand, this is a good thing. One of the things that I absolutely loved about the trailer for ‘Star Wars 7' is that it gave away nothing. Absolutely nothing, and yet it made me want to go and see the film more than anything else in the world. So, if they are keeping these beautiful little gems under wraps, then so be it, I’m excited to see it none the less.

So overall, initially ‘Rogue One’ looked foreign to me, like a film that has stolen the ‘Star Wars’ family name in an attempt to gain sales, but the more I watch the trailer, the more I notice, and the more I feel it is deserving of the ‘Star Wars’ name; lightsabers or not. I am extremely excited for this film, I have no doubt it will be a success and I am truly intrigued to see how they carry out the remaining marketing (follow up trailers etc.) and to see just how well they execute this ‘Star Wars Story’.

Deen Hussein.

--

--