Ten Favorite Indian movies of 2015:

Rehmanism
6 min readJan 23, 2016

--

Okay! Before I start this let me be clear, I am not a self proclaimed movie critic. Have just got nothing to do on a day off so I am making love with my keyboard. Movies fascinate me more than Humans do, So I decided to remember some awesome Indian movies I saw last year. Here is my list of top ten favourite Indian movies of 2015 in no order. I repeat “MY”, you may have hated some movies I loved. But as twenty one pilots song says “Kitchen sink to you is not kitchen sink to me”, Ok friend?

Badlapur:

Since the day i saw “Ek Hasina Thi” I am a die hard sriram raghavan fan boi, next came Johnny Gaddar which took my fandom level to crazy. I love the way he tells the stories referencing classic movie scenes playing in background and books. I was super excited for Badlapur, and ice on the cake was Nawazuddin Siddiqui playing a protagonist. At the same time casting of Varun Dhawan was weird, it take balls to cast a disco deewane chocolate boy in a psychological thriller. But Varun proved us all wrong and was super rad in the movie. Edge on the seat screenplay, bang on emotions, mind blowing performances and awesomeness of Sriram Raghavan. What more I would have wanted?

O Kadhal Kanmani:

It’s like having an orgasm for movie buffs when Mani ratnam, A.R Rahman and P.C Sreeram comes together. It was a multiple orgasm for me because it was starring Dulquer Salman, the guy who never messes up with the choices he makes. This simple urban love story of a modern age boy and girl who doesn’t believe in marriage falls in love and ended up getting married in climax is told by Mani Ratnam sir in the awesomest way ever, I was watching this movie with a constant grin on my face. And as always AR. Rahman gave his best for his master, still playing tracks On Loop. A must must watch!

Vaayai Moodi Pesavum:

As I told before Dulquer Salman never messes up with the choice of movies he gets into. What happens when a whole city gets affected by Mute Flu? When government bans everyone in the city from speaking? This light hearted Satire on our system is one of the best movies I’ve ever seen, Comedy and Satire at it’s best. Kudos! to Balaji Mohan, looking forward for his next.

Talvar:

You should have some serious guts to make a movie on the much talked case in our Country because different people have different perspectives. Nobody would have did justice to this movie the way Meghana Gulzar did, she showed us all the three ways enquiry was conducted and have not compromised on the screenplay. Not to forget the awesome performance of Irfan Khan. This movie stays with you for long and make you think.

Bajrangi Bhaijaan:

What does a bhai fan wants from a movie? Just the screen presence of Bhai. Have spent my entire life defending shitty movies of bhai, haha. I confess. But this time ball was in my court, After a very long time we saw a mind blowing mainstream movie. Beautifully directed by Kabir Khan this story of a simple man who discovers Right and Wrong helping a kid to meet his family was so awesomeness. Nawazuddin Siddiqui added the humour as chand nawab, and we couldn’t take our eyes off little harshali. Proud Movie for a bhai fan like me.

Thoongavanam:

This Kamal Hassan starrer is one of the finest crime thriller I’ve ever seen, if you’ve a good script you don’t really have to spend crores to make a movie. A nightclub, few good actors and gripping screenplay. Thoongavanam was made. Travelled very far to catch this movie, it was all worth it. And not to forget another superb performance by Trisha.

Tamasha:

If you’ll ask me who is your most favourite indian director I’ll not think for a second and say Imtiaz Ali. I can’t really express the connect I have with his movies, watching his movies is like purifying my soul. Rockstar, Highway and Tamasha are on same terms. It’s all about finding yourself, that doesn’t make his movies boring or preachy, they are entertaining as fuck! Tamasha bombed at the box office because many people didn’t liked it, what the fuck people? What’s wrong with you all?

Masaan:

Masaan is undoubtedly the best hindi movie came out in 2015. Since it got standing ovation at Cannes I was waiting to watch this one but it did not got released here in Sydney. Finally I saw it recently, So many understated emotions in the movie. Deeply affecting and gut wrenchingly beautiful. Shout Out to Varun Grover for the story and lyrics “Tu kisi rail si guzarti hain, Main kisi pool sa thartharata hu”.

Piku:

I was having a very shitty day, then I ended up in theatre watching Piku. Few minutes in the movie I’ve forgot all my worries and lost in this mad world of father and Daughter. WHATTAY! delightful movie it was, top notch performances from everyone and soulful soundtrack. Strong repeat value, whenever you’re feeling low just watch this movie. :)

Premam:

Okay! I’ve saved this for last because Premam is special. If I’ve to name one favourite movie from last year in all the languages, Premam is the one. Forget about 2015 it’s one among the best movies I’ve ever seen in my entire life. Premam is Nostalgia fuelled back to love and life. Everything was so perfect in this movie. Story, Screenplay, Performances, Music and the best camera work you must have ever seen. Alphonse Putharen directed two movies the first one before this was Neram, So you can understand his calibre. Can’t wait to watch his next one. Till then Premam on repeat mode.

ALRIGHTY! These are my top ten favourite movies from last year. And I also loved Dil Dhadakne Do and Bajirao Mastani. So people who missed watching any of these movie do yourself a favour, go and watch. Thank me later.

--

--

Rehmanism

In my body, where the shame gland should be, there is a second awesome gland.