XVI
Movie Time Guru
Published in
2 min readJan 20, 2016

--

THE JUSTICE LEAGUE

I’ve been trying my hardest to stay as in the dark as possible about anything related to ‘Batman v Superman’, and especially the upcoming Justice League movie because I want to be as surprised as possible. Needless to say, I might have failed….a little. OF COURSE I tuned in to see the special that aired on the CW tonight because I am a DC fan, but most of all, a Wonder Woman fan. I am very sensitive about my Diana; and she has to be done just right in EVERY medium. I wasn’t a fan of the Gal Gadot casting because I didn’t see her pulling off Wonder Woman physically. I did not want to further my bias, so I did not bother to research her as a way of giving her a fair chance. As it stands, I still know diddly squat about her….but that may change.

I was a little disappointed seeing Wonder Woman in the ‘Batman v Superman’ trailer because physically, I imagine Wonder Woman with a little more muscle definition. I don’t think it’s fair that male superheroes get to be buff and cut up, and heroines are usually busty and in short and/or tight costumes with more slender frames; when they fight and train just as the men do. Therefore, their bodies should also reflect that. I did sneak a peek at a few stills way back when, and I was hoping that at the very least, there would be some CG in postproduction giving Diane some muscle tone. But hey…at least I’m finally getting to see Wonder Woman, right? Beggars can’t be choosers I guess. And to add the cherry on top, I’m getting a Wonder Woman movie!!!!! I only learned about this about 2 weeks ago when I read a tweet in my feed, so couple that with getting to see a trailer for that movie….I’m over the moon right now! Gal Gadot looks as beautiful in the ‘Wonder Woman’ trailer as Wonder Woman does in the comics. I saw my Diana in that trailer, especially when she wore the hat and glasses. I couldn’t be happier.

I had seen the name Ezra Miller thrown about online, but in my attempt to avoid spoilers, I didn’t know that the ink has dried and he will be playing The Flash. Nor did I know that my second favorite member of The Justice League, Cyborg, had been casted either! What I was hoping to see also was the announcement of who will play Hal Jordan. I didn’t get that, but what I got overall from tonight’s sneak peek was very satisfying. I also got the news delivered by two of my favorite human beings; Kevin Smith and Geoff Johns. Johns is the reason I fell in love with The Flash and Aquaman, and reminded me why I love The Justice League so much (with the help of Jim Lee, of course).

I cannot wait until March 25th!

--

--