Liz Ortiz Mackes Gushes about smart actor choices when self taping as she enjoys the work of Atlanta/NY actress Jessica Fontaine

The magic relationship between casting directors and actors

Rosalyn Coleman Williams
Movie Time Guru
Published in
2 min readApr 11, 2016

--

In a day when casting directors have become accustomed to a pay to play relationship with actors. The amazing and generous Liz Ortiz-Mackes took time to meet a diverse group of actors at various levels in their career.

Last week Liz watched all the Zoom In Actors Bonus week self submission tapes without distraction. She paid careful attention to each person. She gave constructive criticism to help the actor improve when necessary. Liz appreciated the commitment of all the actors but…

She really fell in love with a few of the actors.

During the session she celebrated the unique gifts of the those who connected with her through the story. I saw how gifted she is as a casting person. She remembered each actor who moved her. Then I sent the actors their feedback.

Here’s the affect she had on them:

“wow Roz. Thanks sooo much it was so beautiful to watch us again and get that type of feedback…yea. when I watched that scene I really felt her..I don’t always..thanks. ~ Rosemary Thomas

“OMG Roz… It’s 7:45am in the morning and I’m watching the behind the scenes self tape with Liz Ortiz-Mackes!!! I’m screaming over here at her comments / feedback. Awesome Roz! Thanks so much for this experience! OMG! Yayyyyyyy! ~ Lisa Musgrove

”Why am I in tears right now Roz, Thank you for this. I really felt I turned a corner emotionally. And you and the casting director confirmed it. I’m looking forward to learning more. Her words of wisdom were really gold.” ~ James Alexander

😍😍😍~ Jessica Fontaine

I want to thank the actors that bravely shared their work in the Bonus Zoom session. Thank you Liz for restoring my faith in the sincerity of the actor/casting director relationship.

Liz Ortiz-Mackes of Casting Solutions is a casting director of unparalleled integrity. In the midst of producing and casting several projects, she took the time to give detailed specific feedback. She was warm, compassionate and truthful! She’s an wonderful asset to this community. Plus she found some actors she didn’t know about to file in that superhuman casting file brain until the perfect project comes along.

I believe in the magic of this industry.

Zoom In Acting.

--

--