Toy Story 4

To Infinity and Beyond

Josh Kirkland
3 min readJun 21, 2019

Toy Story came out when I was a baby. When I turned five, Toy Story 2 blew my mind. I was in high school when Toy Story 3 focused on growing up and learning to let go. Now I’m in my 20s, and Buzz and Woody are back for another beautiful story. And it is beautiful. If nothing else, Toy Story 4 is gorgeous, from the captivating animation, to the breathtaking water and lighting. Nobody does full 3D animation like Pixar.

If you’re anything like me, maybe the plot of Toy Story 3, and its focus on toys dealing with what happens when their child grows up, left a lingering question in your mind: what’s going to happen when Bonnie grows up? Evidently, Pixar was thinking the same thing, and their answer is different, and maybe even more moving than what I dreamed up.

I can’t really talk about character moments without spoiling the plot, but I’ll say that the film manages to surprise and delight, even as the emotional moments build to a conclusion that I’m sure some will find divisive. I’ll admit: it’s not the ending I hoped for, but I would’ve selfishly had Andy keep the toys back in 2010. The nostalgic, childish part of me wants them to always live in Andy’s room, and for him to never grow up. My inner child would maintain the status quo forever, but there’s no growth in that. Pixar clearly has more on their minds, and each Toy Story manages to teach us lessons about friendship, courage, selflessness, and emotional maturity. This new entry asks meaningful questions about self-worth and duty, while also pulling on nostalgic heartstrings for those of us who still look back fondly on the way things were in Andy’s room.

But things have to change. And even as they do, the warmth and camaraderie we’ve come to know from this series remind us why we’ve loved it for so long. Little references to other Pixar works, a few overt references to Stanley Kubrick, a blink-and-you’ll-miss-it Pizza Planet truck, and more. This movie was a labor of love, certainly not the cash grab many feared it might be. There’s even a lovely reference to Tin Toy, which helps this movie feel like a complete, full-circle journey for the filmmakers and the characters (and for us).

I don’t know if there will be another Toy Story. In some ways, this one brought the closure I’ve been yearning for. In others, I have a few ideas about how there could be one more roundup. But each movie has been so beautiful and so meaningful, that I’d only want another one if Pixar feels like the story is worth it. So, sequel or not, I can safely say, like I’ve always been able to, that I adore every Toy Story.

--

--