XVI
2 min readJan 20, 2016

What I noticed about Amanda Waller that you probably didn’t…

This is a more personal observation, and to be honest, it won’t mean as much to most as it does to the few like me.

Viola Davis is kicking ass right now. I first took notice of her in one of my favorite movies of all time, ‘Antwone Fisher’, also starring Denzel Washington and Derek Luke. It is no secret that I am not a movie buff by any means, seeing less than 5 movies a year (2016 will deviate from that average A LOT). Warner Brothers definitely got an extra point from me tonight for something I noticed in the ‘Suicide Squad’ trailer shared on the CW special tonight. VIOLA DAVIS IS ROCKING HER NATURAL HAIR! This may not be a big deal to most of you; so don’t bother reading if it isn’t. However, this means a lot to me, especially in the wake of the Oscars controversy because we are well aware of the lack of racial diversity, blah, blah, blah; and the lack of strong female roles, blah, blah, blah; but in addition to that, most Black Women, when not playing roles where they are slaves or any pre-Civil Rights movement roles for that matter, are almost never seen rocking their natural hair if it is what is called African textured. We usually are wearing wigs, weaves, or just relax our natural hair to make it straight and look more “appealing”. As someone who recently made the switch back to the coils God blessed me with, I am ecstatic to see Viola wig-less, weave-less, and au-natural. Good job, Warner Bros.